New Ryzen's on the ho(ryzen)!

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

AMD-Ryzen-2-rumour.jpg

Time for change

My current CPU is old. Like 6 years old by now.
It's an i7-2600. Not the K version, but the regular one. It has served me very well. It's been used a lot.
Both for gaming and other CPU heavy tasks, like video encoding and compiling software. Sometimes for many hours straight.
It's always been quite warm though. It's one of the 95W TPD ones, and it's at around 98-99 degrees celcius under load. Again, for many hours on end.

But I have never had an issue with it. It's been a workhorse.
So I have been plotting to get a new CPU for some time now. Like maybe a year or so.

amd-ryzen-2-launch.jpg

New Ryzen Zen+ Announcement

Then, just before CES 2018, they do it. AMD announce the new Ryzen CPU line. They call it Ryzen 2.
Before that I had been looking at the Ryzen 7, 1700, because I want a great desktop CPU with lots of threads, low heat/noise generation and low cost.
Not a lot of information is around on the new Ryzen 7's, but the Ryzen 3 and 5 of 2018, will pack an integrated GPU. I've heard the 7 won't though,
but that's okay, because I still got my GTX 1060.

So now I'm contemplating on getting the Ryzen 7 2700 (or what ever it's gonna be called), for hopefully the same price as the 1700 is at now.
I'd also need a new motherboard and some new RAM for this project. And if you read my previous post, my financial situation is not that great right now.
But the new Ryzen 7 is scheduled to release in Q2 of 2018, and rumours say as early as April. But that still gives me a couple of months to save some cash.
The price I've found for the 1700, motherboard and RAM is around $720, so that's the ballpark I'm going for with the new one too.

ryzen-rollout.png

The plan to get money

So I got about 3 months to save $720'ish up. Since my budget does not really allow to put something aside, I have to sell some stuff.

I do have a few items to sell out of:

  • A buttload of Magic cards (where 1 of them is worth around $100.
  • A used HP DV6 laptop (pretty old one).
  • A used Toshiba Satelite laptop.
  • A used Lenovo IdeaPad (actually my current best laptop)
  • And a few random things here and there.

Now, if that could net me around $750, I'd be golden and my Ryzen 2 dream will come true.
The problem is I have tried to sell some of those laptops before.

I feel I really need this upgrade. So I will try my outmost to get these things sold.

AMD-Ryzen-2-models-prices.jpg
PS: The dates on the above picture are wrong. It's not for pre-order yet.

But if you feel you want to help me get closer to my target I also accept donations.

I have a couple of way you can donate to me.

Via paypal

Monero transfer to this wallet: 4BGo3mzWXcaWtoqZ2a9YzXCozH4zxRzzVRLW448XQQF6VzzvrU8gtvHDHXy44mFaJRFnNYqwpdFM49bDzQHvZt3LMe3BbF5

RaiBlocks/Nano can be transferred to this wallet: xrb_3any8qjcisofz81mdepzrmkx6h151aaxuwrsa3pma8g55paher589whxxj5j

I also accept MobilePay (if you are in Denmark) to this phone number: 26241708

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21