I abandoned iPhone after 9 years and this is what happened

🍏 One apple a day keeps the doctor away or so they say... Well, in my case, it bores the hell out of me and I developed a respectful dislike towards apples... And Apple, the company. 🍏


IMG_5387.jpg

August 2018. My subconsciousness knew that something ain't my cup of tea...

Hello and welcome to another pretentious and absolutely-non-informative rant of mine! I welcome you. Now, this post will be something I've never done before. I'm gonna talk about phones and tech. No photography (well, maybe a little). No music. Phones.
But I think I'll be be fine considering the fact that I am a geeky technosexual. After all, I like my synthesizers more than I like certain people. Haha.

Okay. Where do I begin? It all started when Apple rolled out their revolutionary iPhone 4 in 2010. My father was raving about it even though he got his iPhone 3G recently. The TV was raving about it. Everyone was raving about it. I was raving about it and in the end, I got my hands on that iPhone 4. I switched from a trusty Nokia to a brand new world that Apple represented. Also, I left my iPod Touch behind, which was the very first contact I ever had with Apple.
You see, nine years ago Apple offered a brand new world in the smartphone industry and to be honest, there wasn't anything better than them for quite a long time. Nine years ago, having an iPhone was considered as high-status, or something... You get the idea. Everyone knows the hype.

So I was being conditioned by Apple ever since. I had the iPhone 5 and I can remember how mindblowing it was to switch to the iPhone 6 Plus, which was definitely one of my favorite phones ever. I was always a little bit bummed when I purchased a new phone, just to have Apple introduce a minimally improved version of it less than six months later, but hey! I'm gonna get the new flagship phone and disregard all the iPhone 5s, 6s, etc.!

Well, the reason why I stuck with my iPhone 6 Plus for the longest time was the fact that I didn't really felt the need for an iPhone 7 and the likes that came before iPhone X. And this is where my little problem with Apple begins.
I felt that there was no significant difference between those two phones that would make me swoon over them. Now, I want to keep my fruity phone story short. I bought my iPhone X in March 2018 – Yes, this was the first phone I swooned over since getting the iPhone 6+ in 2015. But my empathy towards the iPhone X (Oh, wait, they introduced a larger model just months after I bought the now by-Apple-standards-already-outdated-phone? Oh for fuck's sake...) faded away after a year or so... It was getting annoying. iOS was getting annoying. Everything about Apple just felt... Annoying. And I couldn't put my finger on why I was feeling that way.

Coincidentally, that was around the time a new player entered the chat. I spotted a laptop by Huawei in a store. It was this neat, 13-inch thing that had better specs than the new Apple MacBooks, it looked exactly like a MacBook and the pricetag was more than fair. I started playing around with it while at the store and it felt great – Because Huawei's Matebook X Pro actually looked like a laptop that was up to date with today's design standards. (Now, who else wants to challenge me in talking about laptops but in very inappropriate way?)
That's how I got into Huawei and I knew them before Donald Trump decided they're evil.

huawei-MateBook-X-Pro-hero-2.jpg

Isn't that baby adorable?! ⬆️

I did some research and I knew that I'll get one of these Huawei laptops as a secondary workhorse eventually. Mind you, all of this was before the Huawei-ban that went through the roof in the media.
Now from an absolutely unprofessional, ignorant and biased point of view, I'd say that Huawei got boycotted by the US just because the US is scared of the Chinese being better at something.
Apple isn't what they used to be and Huawei is actually offering a good alternative for Apple. Scary, isn't it?

Yes, it is scary. Very much so. And it was scary when I lashed out 790€ for Huawei P30 Pro just when Google announced that they won't support Huawei anymore, that including its OS as well. To be honest, I didn't really give a damn cause I knew that Huawei would come up with a solution to the potential worst-case-scenario anyway.

The thing I was most anxious about was making the switch from Apple's iOS to Huawei's version of Android.
I knew that I'm gonna like the P30 Pro without a doubt. The camera on that phone is extraordinary (aka nothing I've seen before on a phone. Also, IS THAT LEICA?!?!) and I might make another post on the camera alone. I visited the store often enough to try the P30 Pro out just to find out that it's not all too different from an iPhone. It's better. And I knew all of these things and I was still scared. Why?
Surprise, surprise! Because I was getting brainwashed by Apple for the past nine years!

180603.jpg

Hey, you're such a pretty boy! P-R-E-double T-Y!

The first 24 hours of owning a piece of Huawei technology were basically me thinking "Oh my God, what have I done?", "Was this a wise choice?", "I really want to like it?! I like it, but... What about the iPhone?!" just to break down crying because I didn't know how much fixated I was on Apple. I shit you not, switching to something different after nine years on Apple was pretty much how I imagine quitting drugs cold turkey would feel like.
This just shows how smartphones ruin your mind. And yes, it was scary. Did I make it through? Without a doubt!

One month later, I'm confident enough to say that Huawei's P30 Pro is the best phone I ever owned. It's sleeker and cleaner than the bunch of iPhones I was used to. The fact that it has no headphone jack is compensated by the camera which outperforms every iPhone I had. The UI of Android makes the whole thing actually feel like a real phone.
Do I regret this decision? Was it worth it? Absolutely!

I think it's clear that this post wasn't going to be a review of any kind. If you're interested to see the Huawei P30 Pro in action, check out YouTube or whatever... That's gonna be more informative than me.
Now, I still have respect for Apple and there's still a little chance I might get an iPhone after three/four/more years (Yes, I do expect the P30 Pro to outperform my experience with iPhone 6+). I will never let go of my Mid-2014 MacBook Pro, which is still the most reliable computer I ever had (and the best one Apple came up with 😉), even though I seriously consider getting one of Huawei's flagship laptops for probably the non-work related things.

Ok. So, in the next post a few weeks from now I'll annoy with my trip to Moscow which I'm looking forward like nothing else in my life.
What do you think? Should I make a comparison between my DSLR and the camera on Huawei's current flagship? Just let me know and I'll try to keep in mind to take pictures with a phone! 😉


No song at the end of the post for today. I'm sorry. Pick your own! And feel free to upvote and leave some comments and your thoughts about the whole Huawei-thing that went down!

📱🍏📱🍏📱

From a place somewhere only I know with love, peace and techno,

– Stacy, The Cool Cat


Yes, that's actually me in my alien form:

Sort:  

Hi stacyisacoolcat,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

hey @stacyisacoolcat, ... really funny your post !! can i tell you something? I've never had an iPhone in my life !! :-)) so I can't make any kind of comparison, but even for me the last phone purchase was a Huawei !! and you're right: he has an excellent camera, try Moscow, yeah :-D
congratulations on being able to overcome your addiction ha ha

Huawei is not that much used in Switzerland but I know from Slovakia that many people use it. I've heard they have great affordable phones with amazing cameras and this is what you've just confirmed.

I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying your new phone :) I'm changing my phones only after the screen is completely smashed but I can understand the enthusiasm of someone who enjoys this technology :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

haha more than what you wrote, I totally absolutely loved the way you wrote, you are so amazing, I could feel your personality from my screen - the pink hair and the punk personality is totally visible not just in pictures but the way you just amazingly wrote your piece. I mean like wow lady. Loved it totally and I feel weird about Apple, I doubt why is it so popular in western countries. COngrats on your curie vote :):):)

Congratulations @stacyisacoolcat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87