Coming in for a landing! Have you been on one of these?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

A Ride of a Lifetime!

The 9er Bot - Taking it to the streets -

Normally I am just a cartoon sponge, but this is the only time, a rare video (below), in which I appear in human form. Don't miss it. there are no ads - I hate ads

When I arrived in Buenos Aires, I was more worried about getting a job and an identity card than getting a car. The way they drive here, you would not want to be on the streets. The public transportation was excellent. You could go anywhere by bus or train. But, in the last few years, it has become impossible. Sardine crammed into buses and trains is not fun and one in five times you board, the train or bus goes out of service. You are dumped off half way home and the taxis are all full. I never dreamed of riding a one-wheel electric bike, but now makes sense. No more sitting in a parked taxi!

This is the second one I have had, and I am trying to keep her shined up and polished. The first one was a solo-wheel. This one is a Ninebot One.

Me Cruisin Down San Juan Ave


This video was shot the day I got her... Yes, this is the way I travel!


Some comments I get when I zing past people on the street, sidewalk or trail...

  • What is that?
  • I want one!
  • No way!!!
  • Chillin' down the road...
  • Where did you get that thing?
  • Now that is the lazy way...
  • No! That's cheating! (as the others sit in traffic)
  • I bet that takes balance to ride.
    ... and "Dad, dad... Look dad... I want one of those!"

There are hundreds of comments, really (all in Spanish). I used to stop and talk to people, and I still do when I am not in a hurry. Everyone wants to know how it works.

The Nine Bot The green lights indicate battery level.

I have been through the same conversation hundreds of times. Here are the answers.

It's electric. The charger is similar to that of a laptop. It takes 90 min. to charge. I charge it every few days. I can go 26km on one charge. Yes, most restaurants and coffee shops let me charge (if necessary). You control it by leaning forward to go and backward to stop. It tops out at 24km/h but that can be limited for kids. It takes at least a week to learn how to ride and months to handle curbs, walking speed, and sharp turns. There are many videos on line if you search for Solowheel, Ninebot, or Airwheel - of which I have tried them all. My kids each have their own Airwheel, I will have a video of our ride in an upcoming post. We did 13km through Puerto Madero yesterday.

Sometimes I answer, "I have a chip in my head" when asked about how I control it. It's the shorter answer.

How much is it?

Cash This is one bitcoin worth of funny-money.

This is probably the most asked question, right after they yell "I want one!"

I answer the question, "One."
They say, "One what?"
... and, the conversation goes on about what a bitcoin is and why the paper is losing it's value.

It should only cost four or five hundred in green funny money, but there are huge import taxes on everything electronic in Argentina. Again folks, this is the one rare time you will see me selling real money for paper. I live on bitcoins. I had some thoughts on funny-money I posted about yesterday.

My problem is that anyone asking me about the cost could probably beat me over the head and take it from me. It weighs about 30 lbs. so they may not get far, but I would still have a lump. If approached right, I usually tell them, "it depends on what brand. You have your Fiat and your Mercedes."

Another problem is that it's a bit rude. If I were to see a tricked-out-chrome-tanked Harley, I would probably not ask what the person has invested in it. But, I understand the curiosity and tell them that they are available here.


There is the app that comes with the Ninebot. It allows changes in ride settings, calibration, turning on/off the lights, and a handful of other features. The main screen is mostly a speedometer with a one-tap lock to turn on the alarm when you stop somewhere. You can't have kids taking off with your ride!

Then there is the optional social network where you are automatically entered into a distance competition. You can also use it to message other NineBot users and ride with them.

Social Competition


I am usually in the top 10 here
in Argentina

mileage


I pulled up distance - 100+km so far!


Finally a shout out to my friend Stephanie aka: @budgetbucketlist for giving me the idea to make a post on this form of transportation. We met the other day for pizza, and she made the comment that I should blog this...

So next time you find yourself in the subway on a 90 degree day... Think of me with the wind in my face...

No, I don't sell electric-unicycles. You can duckduckgo it if you want one.


All photos and videos were taken with my own camera

Thank you to all my followers,
@Sponge-Bob

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @sponge-bob. Looks very interesting. Very kind of you to bring this information to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69061.75
ETH 3774.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51