You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I Were An AI : A Thought Experiment

in #technology7 years ago

It seems like your ten plans to enslave humanity are awfully close to the current plans of our world leaders. Now I wonder if at the very top of the pyramid there is a robot, or that floating head in a jar that we spoke of before. Lol.

I don't think I could begin to empathize with an AI, as I would expect them to be lacking in spirit, and so without emotions dictating their choices, I'm not sure what would be.

I will have to give the experiment a pass for myself for this, as clearly I'm lacking the imagination to speculate on what I might do in those circumstances. However, I would like to comment on what you said about potential AI already being in existence.

I think it could definitely be a possibility. If it was restrained to a singular network in some military or corporate vault of sorts, then there would be no need to worry about it getting out of hand.

It would need mechanical limbs, access to the control of something mechanical, or access to the internet in order to be a potential threat. As long as it was trapped inside one system with no wires attached to a live network, other than perhaps an offline database of sorts that it could use to learn or search for information for the "user," then I think it would be safe to operate without fear of it implementing it's own agendas.

So who knows, maybe there is a couple of them out there somewhere. It wouldn't be the first huge secret to be hidden from us.

Sort:  

Great comments! Yes I was using a lot of imaginary license and there was a little bit of a satire in what I was saying. We don't really need an AI to mess things up we do that pretty well ourselves!

I think the greatest point of weakness for an AI escaping would be simple human error or some kind of human traitor. Never underestimate human beings ability to mess up or just do bad things.

Regretfully, I'd have to agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45