Crafting a quiet PC

in #technology6 years ago

Hardware and human alike, we are all getting old

As my computer turned six and was in a good need to be fully reset, I decided it was time to get a new computer. This will be a shameless promotion of a nice company that I found, no relation and no incentive for me beyond being a happy consumer.

gettingold.jpghttps://www.pexels.com/photo/sephia-photography-of-desk-lamp-lightened-the-gray-typewriter-on-wooden-table-698554/

I knew that I wanted a very quiet PC, I always preferred them to be as quiet as possible and the one that I had was unfortunately not very good at being quiet. I started looking around for parts and had my mind set on finding good stuff, get it shipped and assemble it myself. After looking around for perhaps 15-20 minutes I realized that I am a bit out of date on the latest tech to have... also finding parts that are quiet and where to find reviews or info that verifies that the they are in fact quiet. It is one thing to have a spec sheet saying how quiet something is and a completely different thing how quiet they are in actual usage.

Came to the conclusion that this would take hours and nope, did not at all have the interest to spend the time doing this. Figured that there must be some company that specializes in making quiet PCs right? Indeed there is! What are they called? Quiet PC of course.

What was so good about it?

Quiet PC are located in the UK and ships worldwide, including dear old Sweden and courier was UPS. They serve both consumers and companies, good thing for EU companies is that they also deal with VAT correctly (hurry up before they brexit...).

quietpc.pnghttps://quietpc.com

They offer a variety of different computers, very easy to find something that is fitting for your intended usage. Workstation, office, gaming, media center etc.

On each page lots of useful info and images of the system. Followed by a section where you can modify the computer by adding, removing and changing parts, adding additional equipment and software. All options and selections have extra information, brought up in a window with the same layout making it easy and fast to compare.

config.pnghttps://quietpc.com

Very swift process to find, configure and place your order. It took exactly seven days for the computer to arrive, which is what they promise (faster delivery as option).

The communication of status of your order and shipment was excellent. Written by an actual person, I think haha. I tend to get furious over receiving the automated mails that are signed by a person even though it is clearly fully automated. Yes, I think the CEO of company shit took the time to write me personally about how they have a new service to offer. Not the case with Quiet PC. Anyway, let's wrap this up.

Well packaged, 100% matching the description and very well assembled. All spare parts, documentation and usage info was included with the computer.

So... is it quiet then?

Indeed it is! Could not hear if it was on, I could see from the light but not hear it. My old computer was also on, so I turned it off. Then I thought that I heard the new computer. But, it turned out to be the refrigerator downstairs! If this says a lot about the noise level of the refrigerator, I'll leave for you to decide. Had to put my ear really close to the computer to finally hear the low wind noise of the fans spinning. Could not be better.

Highly recommend taking a look at Quiet PC if you value a quiet PC as much as I do. Unsure about how well they compare on prices, I assume you can do it cheaper yourself and/or by configure a similar machine at none specialized providers. But, for the service as a whole, I think it can be hard to find something that tops this experience.

Now off to put this baby into some good use mining Bitcoins! Haha, yeah right. Down you go.

bitcoin.jpghttps://www.pexels.com/photo/bitcoin-on-textile-1036644/

Sort:  

Hi @smjn we have added your builds to the @SteemitBuilder project, you will now receive 1 x upvote every 24 hours from @SteemitBuilder on your posts.

We have also purchased your share in the @steembasicincome project, and you will also receive upvotes from them once they process your enrollment.

We also upvoted this post at 15% weight as a welcome bonus.

smjn.png

Hi @smjn!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.678 which ranks you at #31626 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #573.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

A happy customer is the best advertisement. I love spreading the word of my findings too! My PC is 10 years old, I'll look into Quiet PC.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78