You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3Dfx Interactive - the company that added a whole dimension to computers and gaming

in #technology7 years ago

Oh the good old times. I still remember the first time I saw what a Voodoo 1 could do. A buddy of mine bought a Diamond Monster 3D 4MB card and added it to his 2MB ATI Rage in his Pentium 200MMX. We played Need for Speed 2 SE in 640x480. In Glide mode (now long gone but was something similar to OpenGL or Direct3D back in the day) you had weather effects and nicely filtered textures. Amazing... Then Quake 2 also running smoothly in 640x480 with colored lights. And of course the original Unreal which also had native 3Dfx Glide support.

I couldn't afford such a card back then, my first own PC I bought around 1999 already had a NVidia Riva TNT2 Pro in it. But then the 3Dfx era was already past it's best. They got acquired by NVidia in late 2000 for a mere 20 million USD.

A lot more info about various 3DFx cards including rare engineering samples can be found here: http://www.thedodgegarage.com/3dfx/ (I do not own this page but in my opinion this guy has the greatest 3Dfx collection on the planet)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50