Hi everyone. Here a crazy Architect, maker, developer, designer, entrepreneur... love blockchain and its community. Hello!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

The path

Well this is going to be my first post at steemit. So I want to just present myself.

The idea behind the use case of blockchain tech around steemit its quite brilliant and it have pushed me to rethink several ideas i had for a couple of products I've worked. So I'm going to use steemit to generate as much value as i can with my posts.

I will talk about topics i love and try to discuss about my job interests and new projects and new startups ideas.

The topics in which I'm all in are quite diferent but all of them I just can't stop learning about them.

3d modelling:

At 16 years old, 14 years ago, I did a masters in 3d modelling and 3d animation in maya XSI and i became quite obsessed with the posibilities of 3d to recreate enviroments and virtual stuff. We are talking like so much time ago. Virtual reality was just a dream which had been tested several time without success for real good user experience via the lack of processing power and a not enough evolved technology to make sufficient small the components to hold in front of your eyes.

So i learn how to create films like toy story. And to do all the process from designing to modelling to animating, texturizing the models, lightning, rendering, post-production, etc.

Then at 18, i wanted to go to the arts school and my father just told me, "told me" Ou little man, you are not going to art school, choose something that can make you money on the future. At that moment, lets say i wasn't completly clear about my future so i went to college to do architecture. I was good at math and physics and very good at arts, colour, design in general, so why not?

Well, Architecture:

Architecture became a field quite interesting. You have to think about architecture, at least in Spain, which is the country i live as mix between an engineer applied to buildings and arts degree and now that there is a name for it, UX (user experience) and UI (user interface) You put all the stuff you learn in those fields in a bottle you shake it so much and you have the ingredients to study architecture.

Architecture is not just about know how to build a building, is all about feelings and sensations, is all about how people behave when face a new space that has been changed or created by humans. Its about light, experience, materials, textures, processes. A building lasts minimun 10 years, so the pre-thinking is amazing.
(I will do a post to talk about the perception of architecture from diferent points of view)

So as soon as a was finishing the degree I became interested in parametric design and new forms. How to make them and how to produce them and build real complex stuff.
I began to learn myself about CNC machines and software to make complex 3d models. I discovered grasshopper and all the posibilities.

The only way at that moment to bring to life these complex 3d modellings where by render. But by a industrial engineer friend of mine i discovered 3d printing. ( we are talking about almost 3 years ago)

i didn't knew it before even though the technology was created almost 40 years ago. This 3d printing boom was possible because the patent for the technology behind the tipical 3d printing additive melted plastic finished around 2009.
I will do another post about the 3d printing world.

I started to go into 3d printing and CNC understanding on my own in a hard way. So hard that i redesigned a version of a 3d printed to fit my needs of bigger pieces. By that time the biggest version was called ingentis and I had the tipical prusa version hacked soooo much. So i learn everything i needed in a fablab in my city called Makespace Madrid and i just started making my own version of a 3d printer.

Learning to develop and the startup scene

By that time i was working as an architect and i friend of mine, seeing me with this 3d printing fever offer me a job in which i considered my first contact with the startup world. The goal was to create a so so big 3d printer that can print anything.
The point was to hack the tipical 6 axis robot of car manufacturing to change the head and 3d print plastic. Then later, other materials.
In this venture i learn to develop python and certain algos to understand robotics enough to make the goal of the company. We were essentialy making a plugin to communicate the robot movements with 3d software (rhinoceros) and adapting the sofware needed to 3d print to a version capable of receving data in other formats.
Here is another future post.

Startups and programming

Well with this experience i learn to develop and a whole new world opened to me. Suddenly i knew how the fucking internet could be working. (more or less) But that freak me out so much that tons of ideas begin to flow around the possibilities.
I think every people on earth should learn to develop software. It is the language of computers and everyone of us now carry one of it in our pockets.

One idea was the most important,
I became obsesed of how internet has impacted the concept of learning.
Since the creation of internet learning has democratize in a vast fucking way and it is just the begining. There is a video about learning talked by Isaac Asimov talking about the future of learning and the future of internet.

Is brilliant -- > Isaac Asimov about the future of internet and learning

I started analizing how knowledge is transmitted in the internet and how internet itself has penetrated population during the last years. One key point for internet use case penetration has been the posibilities of smartphones and when the user experience of them made real the use of internet through them.

But the point was that the main knowledge portals in the internet were the forums, and discussion platforms which weren't by far adapted to a mobile use case. The experience of forums or platforms like Quora, Discuss, etc in a phone is quite disgustting ny a simple fact. Phone are not designed to write on them and a little keyboard on the screen is not a solution.

So i had my startup goal. The goal was so amazing. Make possible and freaking easy to really exchange knowledge through the internet using your phone and with the user experience adapted to a smartphone. At this point with audio or video.

So i started sketching and designing the project and after almost 2 years of working like fucking crazy, we had a initial mobile version.

** I will do a complete series of posts about how to start a startup and how to not do a series of bad decisions i made during this process, because talking about the last 3 years in two lines is fucking stupid**

REPLIT

The proyect now is called Replit and you can download it and test it. We are in beta version.
INVITATION CODE : "EARLYACCESS"

And now these days I'm finally finishing my thesis in architecture. Creating something I believe is going to change how we live during 18 - 40 years. Let's think about it as a coliving. Like a coworking space for living. There are a couple of companies trying to solve the problem but i think their approaches are not good. WeWork is trying to launch WeLive and WeVillage and other proyects are being tested as a viable bussiness models for coliving proyects.

I'm as well learning blockchain tech, solidity and other posibilties. I will make a blockchain project focusing on knowledge exchange as a part of my Replit project. Something like Lunyr but focused on real uses cases of internet knowledge.
Think about what could happen if universities were completely displaced as their position of middlemen in the knowledge world and knowledge holders were simply paid by sharing their knowledge in the same way it does a university but without it.

It is going to be around that topic.

So well this is my first post.
Sorry if i have any typo or strange phrases as english is not my first language.

Hello everyone again i love this new communities!

I will try to add as much value as i can with my posts so if you are interested in art, architecture, technology , startups, blockchain, cryptocurrencies, javascript, python, developing, UX, UI, internet posibilities in general just follow me. I will try to not disagree with my posts.

Cheers ;)

Sort:  

Congratulations @sergormo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56