What about maglev? I only listen Hyperloop these days!!!!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

download (5).jpg
Most of us must be familiar with Maglevs, "Have you watched the movie Big hero 6?" There you can see how Hiro's friend, I exactly forgot her name, wait let me google, "GoGo Tomago", how she works on levitating wheel with magnetic suspension, yes that is fictional. But what's happening here in our real world with Maglevs? Let me share, what I've read and known about it, you can add if any other updates you know about.
Most common application of magnetic levitations are Maglev trains. So Maglev trains, we all know about it, what happened after that? Maglev hoverboards, few maglev games, and?
There have been operating maglev trains, but why isn't it so popular? It's cost, we need to create superconductor using liquid nitrogen which is difficult to maintain and bla bla complications, what are we doing about it? --"Quantum Levitaion"
There is an effect named Casimir effect which is definitely a quantum level phenomenon, and this effect had brought new concept for levitating objects, and I've only known this much about it. A year back, I saw a spherical wheel/tyre which also works on Maglev concept by goodyear tyre, which was fascinating, then I've never heard about the working prototype.
Hyperloop, which is entirely different concept for future transportation, levitates on cushion of air, but we are thinking of magnetic or quantum levitation too, it's application is more diverse.
For now, In my opinion, Goodyears' spherical tyre concept is close to Tomago's research in Big hero 6, if successful, then it will definitely rule this sector of development. Other than this, quantum levitation seems like it can revolutionize the levitating mechanism and make levitation more cheap, open and easy.
And alternative to maintaining vacuum in a pod like in hyperloop, making levitation more free and open is more interesting. "What are the developments of Casimir effect levitation and it's practical application?" This remains a question for me. Hope to find it out soon here and there.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28