10 Useful Websites to Bookmark

in #technology7 years ago

This post was inspired by @twistychips. Make sure you check out his post if you want interested in more. Here are 10 websites I use at times, or bookmarked and kept somewhere to get dusted. You might even know these ones.

postimage(Postimage.org)

www.postimage.io

As much as I want to use SteemIMG, I couldn’t get it to work on the Chrome browser. Either MacOS or Win 10, I click on upload many times and no file selection window pops up. Postimage.io works for me however, and I like it because the images don't expire, aren’t searchable (like imgur) so theres some privacy, and you can resize the image to your needs. You also do not need to use this website for Steem, it can be used for other websites/blogs/message boards.

LINE Chinese-English Dictionary

www.nciku.com

This website saves expats lives. There are numerous times when I see a chinese character somewhere and I either don’t understand it or I don’t know how to say it. I can input the strokes/character into the dictionary and it will tell me the definition and pinyin. Whats better is they have a mobile app now.

sendanywhere

www.send-anywhere.com

Send-Anywhere is better than WeTransfer because it has a 4GB max upload, and it also has an app for iOS and Android. The only issue about this is the other person that is receiving the files must be online and ready at the same time.

justdelete.me

http://backgroundchecks.org/justdeleteme/

This website is a directory of URLs that you can search, if you want to delete your account from web services. This is useful because some websites make it difficult for you to delete your account. If you want to go off-grid, or want your identity to be untraceable, you can usually start here.

ZAMZAR

www.zamzar.com

The ultimate site for file conversion, as long as its not over 50MB in filesize. Its been advertised that it supports over 1200 type of files. Its free of course, otherwise I wouldn’t be sharing it.

Major Geeks

www.majorgeeks.com

This is my favorite website to download freeware programs, or to obtain software in general. Sometimes, If I can’t find the program that I am looking for on Google then I would go to here. The site scans files in case of viruses and makes sure they don’t do anything bad to your system. If a program has adware, bloatware, or is shareware, they will tell you so. They also have a section for the MacOS. Don’t be fooled by the aged website design; Their forum gives tons of support and deserves credit.

FilePursuit

https://filepursuit.com

Here is a site I use if I am looking for a file; audio, eBook, magazine, video, software, etc.
Think a search engine but with files.

CTRLQ.org - Address Lookup

https://ctrlq.org/maps/address/

You will need a VPN for this one. Another life-saver if you are an expat in China and needs things shipped here. You place the red marker on the location you are looking-up and it gives you the postal address in English. It also gives you coordinates in Longitude and Lattitude.

MP3 Search

http://www.jimmyr.com/mp3_search.php

This website is awesome. Type what you are looking for in the box and then it looks for websites with Open Directories/Indexes utilizing the Google search engine. You can search or other types of files as well.

Have I Been pwned?

https://haveibeenpwned.com

This website is checks your email address or username if your account has been compromised from a data breach.

Sort:  

Very useful information and your explanations were very clear

Nice post. Thanks.

I have not hard of most of these sites but i do have a use for several, thanks for pointing them out.

Good post my friend nice to me you i am @djnoel ;)

Congratulations @satoshiengaged! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @satoshiengaged! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83