Unveiling The Device That Can Translate Over 40 Languages: {Communication Simplified}

in #technology7 years ago

Science and Technology is really getting better by the day. A new phase has arrived in the world of communication. Now the need to learn different languages will be overridden by this new tech; Google Pixel bud. This device could revolutionize the way we communicate globally.

[Image Source]

The announcement was made on 4th October at San Francisco. The device is meant to connect to your smart phone, which picks up voice signals and convert them to your preferred language (English by default).

This reminds me of a Sci-fi movie; first contact (I guess the movie was from 1940s novelette of Murray Leinster). References were made about the universal translator. But at that time, it was seen as a mere Sci-fi. But thanks to science, all that has changed. This tech has arrived in our midst.

I hope this translator will be able to translate Nigerian Igbo language into English language

My friend made a very humorous remark about this device. He said; 

“If this device is tweaked extensively, it can translate Alien languages

He believes aliens will contact us soon.

Mechanism of pixel bud

Pixel buds (or just called “earbuds”) are basically touch-controlled. It will be hooked together with google virtual assistant through your mobile phone.

[Image Source]

Once a language is spoken near the bud, it will pick up the signal, and relay it to the virtual assistant, which translates it and sends it back to the bud. The bud will then “whisper” the translated voice directly into your ear (N.B This process happens in split seconds). Also, the battery, when fully charged, can last up to 5hrs of straight usage. Interesting, isn’t it?

I was about taking up a part time course on a foreign language, but I think this tech is way cooler than the need to learn a language. Pixel bud has got my back (that doesn’t mean I’m relying much on tech though). Or should I just go ahead and learn the language?

Someone could ask, how much does this tech go for?

Well, the release price is $159. I quickly converted this to my local Nigerian Naira and kobo; it’s a little bit on the high side (N57,240.00), but I guess it’s worth the price.


My view on this: It is quite an impressive tech, though I’m yet to try it out, and I hope to do so soon. Also, I hope the design took into consideration the variations in intonation of people’s voices? Also, when will more languages be added to this device?

You can also comment your views about this tech.


Thanks for reading

References for further reading: Ref1, Ref2, Ref3


Sort:  

Thought this has been existance for about 5 years nw
The 57k sha .. :-(
Too expensive

This particular one dropped on 4th of October.

The 57k sha .. :-(
Too expensive

Lol. You're right :)

Could come in handy in a UN meeting

There is a similar headset that I saw yesterday on Twitter for UN meetings

Yeah, I think they already have this sort of thing, it's OK to have one that could go mainstream. So that foreigners won't feel so out if place in a new country. At least they'll get to understand 80% of what is being said. Similar to using a Google translator.

I just hope the translation precision index will be high as well

It can't be 100%, but at 80% efficiency, I think it'd be a huge improvement.

Yeah, it is really trending in the tech world now. It's an amazing tech

Exactly. There won't be need for an interpreter :)

Wow, technology. This is cool and awesome, wish to have one

Technology is only getting better. Sure you'll have yours

That’s quite an interesting piece of technology, we’re one step closer to having our own babel fish. Thanks for the post @samminator. I wonder if they will be saving information from the device’s translations to improve their translation services(kind of like google translate now). I imagine it could give them quite a lot of data to use, if this catches on at all.

Exactly. Though this one has a little different mechanism than the babel fish; it doesn't work on brain wave

Wonders of innovation and development!

Waw... impressive. Could really be useful for all everyone making communication easier at any level in the world. Thank you for sharing.

Exactly. It's so impressive. Thanks for dropping by

Wow that's awesome, but I think the price is too high take for example in our current economic situation 80% of people in Nigeria won't be able to afford it.

You're absolutely correct. But I'm sure the price will come down once there is competition in the market

Sam. this is a very good invention, i believe it can even translate more languages, all they need is to keep on updating. my question now is, is it going to be affordable?
steemit Well done GIF.gif

It's an amazing invention.

my question now is, is it going to be affordable?

I talked about the price in the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53912.73
ETH 2234.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30