You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Pet (A little bit of techno-nostalgia)

in #technology7 years ago

My first computer was a Schneider - basically a large keyboard and a monitor.
Tomorrow's World and Horizon were teen TV staples.

Thanks - upvoted. You may be interested in a new project I have started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project [August 2017 Signups]

I saw you had great success when your article was promoted by Curie; I hope you can find similar success moving forward. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

How the times have changed! I remember seeing the first CD on Tomorrow’s World – they called it a 'laser disk'and proved that it was indestructible by spreading peanut butter and jam on it - and it still worked.
Unfortunately, now that we actually live in tomorrow's world, CD's turned out to be quite useless - especially trying to listen to them in a car. I've gone back to cassettes. Some of mine are thirty years old and still work.

Thanks for the tip about your project. I left a message there on the page. All the best

Yes, hi-tech always starts as hi-quality but quickly descends into mass-produced lo-quality hi-profit commodity.

I found cassettes get chewed up in cars too - CDs scratch - funnily, the most vibration-proof format I found was the old 8-track cartridges. I still see them in markets here - no buyers.

i totally remember that Tomorrows World episode!
and its was all lies also! i mean ok you can probably get away with peanut butter.. but skipping scratched CD's were always a big problem!

u still have a cassette player!!? Jeeez

and i love this one!

Yes, there's a tape player in my car. It's even got auto reverse and it can find the beginning of the next song automatically. I've only got a few tapes though. Mostly bob dylan. I need to make some more compilations but need to find a recorder and someone who sells blank cassettes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51