Computers Can Tell If We Lie

in #technology7 years ago

A company named Converus created a new test in which the eye's pupils are recorded as they move, and a computer algorithm determines whether a person is lying or telling the truth. The test marks 90% accuracy, just as the polygraph. Researchers say thes new technology is even better and more accurate.


eyeye.jpg

The EyesDetect technology is becoming more popular because it's easier to operate and more accessible than the Polygraph. Whats more, using the Polygraph can give more unreliable data, because another human is doing the evaluation. Testers can be affected by their emotions, such as sympathy or dislike upon the person being investigated.
EyesDetect is using a really simple technique based on a number of factors, the most important of which is the pupil enlargement in response to a question. As e all know the eye's pupils expand upon telling a lie because lying requires more energy from the body. The brain has a higher load and the pupils expand to gain more light and give the brain more information to process. The changes can be insignificant, sometimes only a fraction of a millimeter.
When undergoing an EyesDetect test, the subject fills out a questionnaire with a series of questions that should be answered only with Yes or No. An infrared camera is recording and tracking the eyes, after half an hour the software compiles a "lie estimate" on a scale from 0 to 100.

eyes.jpg

EyeDetect tracks the movements of a person's eyes and pupils during the test.


Several companies are already using EyeDetect and are implementing the novel technology. It can be very useful in sectors such as criminal investigations, human and social studies, face recognition applications, AI and much more. Imagine in the near future having an app that can tell if someone is lying to you. It may turn out to be true that the eyes are the window to the soul.

Benefits of EyeDetect:

• High accuracy
• Fast (only 30 minutes for a test)
• Nonintrusive
• Cost-effective
• Portable
• Incorruptible and unbiased

Sources: 1, 2, 3



Sort:  

Yeah it's getting scary out the with iPhone X facial scanning et., al.

But to put it in context, my wife knows 100%... no machine or software can compete!

Nice write up.

I bet women can beat all the algorithms, they just need a good incentive :)

You can chain me, you can torture me, you can even destroy this body, but you will never imprison my mind.

- Mahatma Gandhi

What that has to do with this post?

I have no doubts that evil dictators and corporations will see this as an improvement over polygraphs and be quick to adopt it. But, even more interesting will be when this is accepted by the courts of law.

thank you for sharing valuable information.good idea

Don't spam me please. Why you post the same comment all over every post? You get a flag, enjoy.

very good post my friend..
plase you are visit my blog..

Very bad grammar my friend, and you will get flagged for posting the same comment on multiple posts.

yes friends, I am sorry I just studied in steemit, but not in fleg is my friend I do not understand

maybe I made a mistake but the replies are not in that way, maybe one day I will be bigger than you every boss have feelings, maybe I can not reply you but there will be others who will reciprocate the remembrance of a god fair.

You are spamming the blockchain, maybe think about it! Please stop!

indeed I made a mistake and I will stop, and I am sorry but you have made me lose and make me hurt and disappointed you are selfish.
sorry if I'm sassy speaking.

How I'm selfish excactly?

anyway I am at your disadvantage I never harmed you, and want to win alone is selfish.

Win what? What disadvantage? I don't understand, how come I'm the bad guy here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31