Want to Stay Anonymous Online? Well, You Probably Can't .

in #technology7 years ago (edited)


                            

Unfortunately there is no real anonymity and privacy when it comes to the internet.  Between Facebook and all these other companies collecting and selling your information to government interests making it so you can't stay anonymous the chances of being tracked becomes even easier.  Sure you can do things like encrypt your hard drive and use a VPN with Tor but in the end, if the NSA is after you, they will find you.  

                             

So unless you are running some illegal operation I wouldn't even worry about trying to remain anonymous because everything can all be cracked and tracked.  Like I mentioned above you can make it harder to be tracked by using Tails, VPN's and bouncing your packets off of a hundred proxies (which would slow your internet down anyway) but in the end it won't matter because the internet wasn't designed for anonymity, to begin with.  The protocol TCP/IPv4 was designed for trusted computers on trusted networks, being anonymous wasn't in the plan at the start of the internet. 

                             

Even the Darknet has become 'mainstream 'and with all the past and recent busts that have happened over the last few weeks.  That should show you that even these hacker/tech people that run these illegal sites can be found.  Besides who wants to use a million apps and services to hide anyway?  That will only lead to paranoia and your own demise in the long run.  Any company that offers you anonymity is a false promise and will give you a false sense of security.   If you really want to try to stay a little more private this is what i would suggest, run tails, whonix or Qubes from a USB stick or a CD and use the tor network.

                             

Yes, we can do things to protect our privacy but being totally anonymous is impossible so thinking that using the Mcdonalds wifi is safe is very naive, you might as well go hide in the ball pit because they will find you in there as well!  

Just stay honest and don't do illegal things and you will be just fine.  Going to bed knowing you can rest your head easy is priceless. 

            

I hope you enjoyed. Please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow me @road2wisdom

 

 

Sort:  

I watched enough Person Of Interest to know full privacy will never exists! LOL!

Me too as a matter of fact it happened to me and my family! I am starting to write a post on this matter but it will be a long 5 post series! thanks :)

Haha, 'you might as well go hide in the ball pit.'

You should assume everything you do online is being logged and tacked.

When getting a VPN make sure you pay in Bitcoin or other crypto. Dont give them your payment details. Also beware of VPN vendors they are dodgey lie and log you.

One of the best - https://nordvpn.com/

I couldn't, agree more! Keep your act clean and sleep easy! Peace in the heart is priceless! Excellent post! Upvoted!

Just do you and you will do just fine.
And you are doing it.
To be honest I like to be tracked, sometimes I lose myself!

Thanks lol like being tracked, listen they post I did on the Greek earthquake can I was going to donate the sd to the greek-trail can I send it to you ?

I think you should keep your earnings. I have no idea how much you made, but the author is entitled to his earnings I wouldn't want for transparency reasons to accept them. I should check if there are any public ibans to donate to the families of those that where lost and if there are any I will get back to you...

Thanks for your support, the post alone was appreciated.
:)

Came with a bang ey. Very good post!

Transparency is going to be huge in the future but it's scary 😧😀

:0)*

Just stay honest and don't do illegal things and you will be just fine. Going to bed knowing you can rest your head easy is priceless.

I wish that was true @road2wisdom. It would be a wonderful world if it was.

I know, we would have an entire different system in place :/

It's either living under a rock or giving up a bit of your privacy. If you have nothing to hide, you're fine. By having a mobile phone I probably share the most info about me, but I can live with that.

Nice post @road2wisdom

I agree, and thank you :0)

I used to take the "living under a rock" approach but I don't think that's viable anymore unless you live in the middle of nowhere. Too many cameras and too much data-mining everywhere.

This post has received a 5.32 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @road2wisdom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66