You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apache vs. Nginx

in #technology7 years ago

Ah yes, AWS comes to mind here in that token. I work in a DC and you wouldn't believe how many businesses are still running on stuff that was deprecated over 10 years ago. I still shudder from when I used to have to tell clients that their FrontPage sites haven't been supported since 2003, lol. It's pretty unbelievable how unwilling people are to update their systems. Not only does the potential for a 14 year old script kiddie messing shit up increase, so does the potential for you to end up with a completely borked system. I find it quite amusing how people are not willing to update their businesses' security. Web tech is evolving at such a quick rate, what is practical today, might not be practical next year.

Sort:  

When it's that old, it might actually start becoming more secure, since no one is learning about it anymore, or targeting it. XD

Hahaha, this is too true. I did recently have a customer, in which I discovered a rootkit on his managed server. I tried to explain why it was a serious issue, but was cut off. Apparently he liked the way the term 'rootkit' rolled off the tongue and insisted that I leave it there. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66