The Best 3D-Printed Christmas Gifts for 2017

Here are my 5 favourite gifts that I've 3D printed for this Christmas. My criteria for choosing these was mostly based on the personal interests of the people I'm giving them to; however, I think they have a wide enough appeal that they might help someone else think of gifts they can 3D print. I used a Wanhao Duplicator I3 to print these and they came out perfectly. I do have an upgraded cooler duct that I think helped while printing the vase. Well let's get down to the list:

#5 Piston Key Chain

I have a friend who is in the middle of rebuilding three (yes three!) cars right now. I had to think of something small enough to mail and came across this great piston keychain from Tez_Gelmir. It needed very little cleanup after printing and I think its a unique piece that he can use for one of his many sets of keys once he's done rebuilding his cars.


#4 Assemble Yourself Fidget Gear

I send a lot of Christmas cards to old friends and colleagues. Not necessarily people I would normally buy a gift for, so when I saw this flat pack fidget gear from Y_Dascalu I thought that would be perfect to include with my Christmas cards. It adds a fun surprise that takes very little time to print and costs next to nothing. I printed 21 of these and put one in each card I was sending.


#3 Labyrinth Gift Box

These are very neat puzzle boxes from Anblan that spice up the gift of cash or any other small gift you might be giving. I chose the XXL version because it gives a few more possibilities for stuff you can fit in there. It takes a little bit of time to figure out how to open it your first time around but the more times you solve it the easier it gets.


#2 Digital Sundial

A sundial for the modern age! This clever design by Mojoptix uses an intricate matrix of dots to display the time from 1000 to 1600 updating ~every 20 minutes. I was amazed when I first set this up and I'm sure it is going to be a hit when I give it to my nephew who loves old school stuff. 


#1 Honeycomb Vase

I loved this vase from Eggnot the moment I saw it. I jumped to print it so quickly that I didn't realize it actually has small holes all the way up where the corners meet. I remedied this by spraying the inside with some flex seal (yes the stuff from the infomercial!) and it works great now. It goes very well with modern, industrial, and mid-century furniture. I actually liked it so much that I had to print a second one to give to my mother. 


That sums up all of the Christmas presents that I 3D printed for this year. I hope this list can help someone else with their gift-giving. All the items linked are licensed under the creative commons license. If you do choose to print any of the items I strongly encourage you to tip the designers on their respective thingiverse listing since I'm sure they all put a lot of work into the design. 

Sort:  

Please feel free to share any cool things you've 3d printed for Christmas this year!

Congratulations @richardlonghorn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @richardlonghorn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48