The Beast

in #technology7 years ago

The Beast 3D Printer

A month ago, something special, close to my heart was delivered right to my doorsteps, I must admit, my excitement level was up on the roof, especially having to wait for the package for more than 3 months. Looking to buy a 3D printer was in my mind for a few years now but it was always too expensive or not the product I was looking for. I don’t like throwing my money away on garbage.
And so I looked far and wide and I found my Beast on Kickstarter of all places, a newly formed company from Australia were just trying to raise funds to build up their company giving some very awesome prices for an incredibly good 3D printer. The only problem was the company had only 3 people working and 100+ orders to fulfil besides mine and I had to be last in the queue.
They had to manually print, cut and produce nearly all the parts and then pack them seal tight before they sent it out to their customers and I must say when I saw the amount of bits and bobs the printer had I thought I would never be able to build it by myself even if I had a year. Oh yes I forgot to mention the printer came dissembled and I had to put it together DIY style...
I could have bought it ready assembled from them if I had committed an extra £1500 but at the time I thought, what’s the fun in that I want to be able to tinker and maybe I can learn a bunch more about fixing my 3D printer once it gets broken if I put together myself. Fun, yes, the most fun I had in my life, I don’t believe it was hard to build it, rather tedious, having thousands of bolts, nuts and washers to fix to the main frame. I never thought I will manage to finish building it in a week but at the time I had took that week off work and start working on it every day. I would wake up early in the morning and go to sleep quite late, sometimes skipping dinner just because I had figured out some complicated bit and had to continue. It was my first time I had embarked on such a large project to build on my own and I feel quite proud to see it sitting up and running at the moment. Now I’m just playing around with it see what this baby can do and hopefully I can make some really spectacular projects on it soon and share them with you.
I wish I took the time and film the entire process, I could have done a tutorial on how to build The Beast but my head wasn’t thinking about that at the time. Pity, it would have been great content for Steemit. Oh well, there is always a next project.
If anyone would like to build their own Beast or simply more information I will link the Kickstarter page bellow and help out this company if you want to…I highly recommend their printer, its Big, Practical and has amazing definition if calibrated to their recommendations not to mention it has four printing head, yes I can print 4 similar designs at the same time which is awesome.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1624260277/the-beast-a-large-and-precise-4x-extruder-3d-print

20170714_175645.jpg

20170714_175658.jpg

20170714_175733.jpg

20170714_180200.jpg

I guess i had enough nuts and bolts to build two of them or i may have skipped fixing one or two, I don't know. :)
20170714_180325.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to read through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29