You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Technological castration

in #technology7 years ago

I can see your point about pedophilia being something one can't control, but acting on desires CAN be controlled. I'm sure there are many pedophiles that suppress their aberrant desires and never act on them. Unlike seizures, there is a choice involved in molesting children, and there isn't any excuse for it.

Sort:  

That works under the assumption that everyone has the capacity for controlling of desires. It could be that those that recognize an unwanted urge can opt for treatment pre-crime, but that doesn't mean everyone has that power over the urges. If the control was there, everyone that didn't want to smoke, gamble, drink or be overweight would be able to simply control themselves. There are complexities that go beyond how we want things to be.

I'm a smoker so I can relate to that!

I was , I was able to quit. I do take your point though and this is why it is so complex. I am in no way defending or endorsing the behaviour, but all behaviours are complex beyond our understanding. I used pedophilia as a much less subtle example.

I didn't think you were defending it, don't worry. If we want to change things, we have to examine them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57810.80
ETH 3056.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24