My Resolutions for 2018 starting today - Commit Titles

in #technology6 years ago

Hey everyone, after years of ignorance and complete laziness I have decided to finally give my commits names which identify them correctly and which actually makes sense.

Partially to improve the documentation, partially because I was starting to get ashamed of them.

A few bad examples: (By me™)

While those are at least some examples which somehow "explain" what is going on, it's definitely not the right approach to document my commits.

While we do squash merge all commits on a pull request, our users which follow our git log and the automatic messages we create to be pushed to curse still contain our commit logs which confused them more than it helps.
(Squash all commits into one and then commit it on the branch)

Additionally, if I get used to doing the right thing, it will be easier to work in an environment without squash merging and easier to work in a company environment where commit messages have to make sense as well.

That's why I will show some good examples now.

This is good out of several reasons:

a) When you, eventually (certainly) try to search for something in your git history, this will make it way easier to find everything.
b) Other people looking at your git repository won't immediately close it and rant to you.
c) Users checking out your git history will actually understand what's happening.

Resuming:

  • Fix it
  • FixyFix
  • Fix
  • Hotfix
  • Blah
  • Ermahgerd
  • Meh
  • Shit

Are no valid git commit messages because in a week you will have forgotten about what you did and until then no one else will understand what you were trying to do.

I hope you liked that small excourse about git commit messages and titles, and maybe I reached some of you guys who use titles like I did, and maybe, just maybe you will change that, for a week or so.

Sort:  

nice post.thanks for shareing

Wow ,well understood.. thanks for sharing your resolution with us steemians..

Wow ,well understood.. thanks for sharing your resolution with us steemians..

well its understood but how people get use of these for me its good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56