You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Amazon Too Big? Monopolies and the Price of Convenience.

in #technology7 years ago

Great anaylsis, I used to work in an Amazon warehouse, and let me tell you. The scope of thier business is terrifing. They get millions in tax from states for being "job creators" then turn around and invest in droids that will replace all of thier warehouse works with machines. Many people praise Amazon for job creation but A GAINT workforce lay off is coming soon, they have the droid ready to go in an instant.

Sort:  

I'm glad I never worked for them! Was it really as bad an experience as the reports suggest?

It was the Orwellian man, they have the most bizarre work culture I've experienced. Career Amazon workers are often ex-military because the way they put prioritize and competition and self sacrifice is similar to the marines. I worked in the Pick department for 4 months, 12$ and hour, full time through a clandestine "temp agency" basically so they did not have to provide benefits. I only met one other person really because communication was discouraged, it detracted from productivity which they are obsessed with. Overall they offer a non-skilled person a livable wage, but it's pretty tiring and soul sucking. I'll write an article about it this week and post it here in the comments!

Sounds awful. Probably better if you send me the link in the chat - it will be easier to spot - just dm it to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15