You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now seriously: Why women tend to be less interested in a career in IT

in #technology7 years ago

A bit late, but here goes. I work in IT and I love it. I like the male environment, because with men, you know where you stand. I've never liked women much, because they are so good at backstabbing. So for me, the many male co-workers definitly isn't the problem. Actually, I left my awesome IT job not long after we finally got another woman in the department. She sucked the fun right out of the air and tried to bad talk about me whenever she felt she could get away with it. Women can be very sneaky in their hatred and men usually don't see it. I don't know why she hated me, but only one other male co-worker fully saw it aswell. My supervisor was oblivious, so I couldn't do much else than leave eventually.

The other reason for leaving was that they ruined my platform. They ruined the big range of possibilities I had on it. Slowly, my work switched from being able to do everything, to being a glorified helpdesk worker who couldn't do anything without the consultants. Where's the challenge in that?

I like IT, because it is challenging. No, I don't want to do helpdesk work, even though it's a good place to start getting to know the environment. I don't like the technical side as much as I like the functional side. Being the translator between business wishes and IT solutions. Gathering people's working processes and making them easier by building them an easy environment to work in.

IT has plenty of challenges, but I think for an outsider, it will look all technical. Opening up computers and messing around in there. Pulling cables and installing machines and networks... They don't think about everything that's inbetween the technical and business. Maybe that's the biggest issue. I don't know.

Honestly, I'm happy to be a woman in IT, even though I'm currently on a break.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68492.14
ETH 2699.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72