You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Skyscrapers

in #technology7 years ago

Very interesting post, this has brought back memories for me. I to remember the feeling in NY, only my experience was from the Empire State building. I remember the feeling of awe, looking out over the towering skyscrapers thinking how close they were to the Hudson river. Thinking all this heavy steel and cement so close to this flowing river, what prevented it from toppling into the water. And I also had the sense of the multiple layers of society. I had spent the day walking around the city, and my feet were very tired. So it was late in the afternoon when we made our way to the observation deck of the Empire State building. During the day I had experienced riding the subway into Grand Central Station and seeing the multi-layered transportation system. Then walking around, including coffee at the Trump building, visiting the Rockefeller Center, and trying to find the Seinfeld coffee shop. But I'll never forget looking out from the Observation deck and thinking that all those dots, which were the people, they are only a small part of the reality of NY life. The city is really 5 to 7 layers of people, all busy, all going somewhere, but seemed as though never arriving at their destination. @eroche, thanks for bringing all this to mind, awesome!

Sort:  

I hadnt thought of the multiple layers of society but your so right. I remember thinking at the top of the Empire state how unreal it was. Looking out over the city. A great experience. I saw it in the evening after dark, i will have to go back and go up in the day time. I hadn't noticed the river that much for that reason.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45