You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazon Echo - The spy in the room? 👂

in #technology7 years ago

While I do think all of this smart technology is tracking/watching/listening to us, I don't think it's used for anything nefarious just yet (though it likely will be). It's all used to sell us stuff. The internet ads already know to sell me stuff that I want before I want it.

Giving up your privacy is the true test. You can either go without technology or go without privacy. That's the choice.

Sort:  

For me the worrying part is not only is this information being collected but most of the time people don't even know it's happening. It's hidden very well in the small print (that they know no one reads) or not at all.

lol well yeah, you can't TELL people you are spying on them. You can't deny it either. I just watched the movie "The Circle" and this is pretty much what it's about.

I didn't mean spying, I meant companies using your data with your consent but it's only with your consent because it was hidden in a thousand pages of "do you agree to the terms" Spying is obtaining this information without the other person knowing, if you have told them and they have chosen not to listen (as those read me pages are set up like that) then it's not technically spying.

I'll have to have a look at that film. As usual thanks for the comments. Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65