My History: My First Two Computers

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

My First Computer - Commodore VIC-20

xmgkk4hs9f.jpg

Specifications:

  • Memory: 20 KB ROM + 5 KB RAM (up to 32 KB), 3.5 KB for BASIC (up to 27.5 KB)
  • CPU speed: 1.108404 MHz (PAL) / 1.02 MHz (NTSC)
  • Storage: Cassette tapes and floppy disks

(More info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_VIC-20)


Just look at this beauty. Isn't that the most beautiful device in the world? That is exactly how I felt when I was 8 years old :) I couldn't believe my eyes when my father brought me and my brother this fascinating machine. He bought it in a second hand shop and it was without any external storage device. True, we didn't receive along any floppy drive or cassete drive, nothing!

So, how could I use this computer? I could connect it to the TV set and use its programming language - BASIC. Oh, how I enjoyed writting code with this machine. I was programming all sorts of calculations etc. But when my time for using the device was over I had to turn it off. How did I save the written program? I didn't, I couldn't.

I had to write the code each time anew and this was a real fun for me, believe it or not! This is how my fascination and love for the computers began. Of course, after some time, I came to a realization that this computer wasn't enough.

I urgently needed an upgrade...

My Second Computer - Commodore C-64

jmobiuz9nl.png

Specifications:

  • Memory: 64 KB (65,536 bytes) RAM + 20 KB ROM
  • CPU speed: 1.023 MHz (NTSC version) / 0.985 MHz (PAL version)
  • Connectivity: 2× CIA 6526 joystick, Power, ROM cartridge, RF, A/V, CBM-488 floppy-printer, digital tape, GPIO/RS-232

(More info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_64)


Yes, since I was a kid I needed to upgrade to a device capable of playing beautiful games (64 KB of memory was a huge upgrade) and joysticks were an obligatory equipment :)

I remember that my brother and me were so persistent that we finally convinced our father that we can't live without the REAL computer! So we drove to Austria, a neigbouring country, and bought a brand new computer with an accompanying tape drive!

idagp23bzp.jpg

Finally we were able to do the real stuff! Playing all sorts of games with beautiful graphics was my new addiction. I still remember many games that we played, but one particular game sticks in my mind to this day. It was called: Terry's Big Adventure. Here you can check out for yourself how beautiful the game was:

But I was not just playing games, but also wrote programs in BASIC, also some simple games using simple graphics. I still remember those PEEK and POKE commands :) (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PEEK_and_POKE)

2feo7p3ujb.gif

These were my very beginnings in the computer science. Nowadays these machinces may seem very basic and odd, but believe me: they were magical!

I hope you enjoyed this lesson of computer history :)

Sort:  

Hey, STEEMPUNK-NET here

We support players and games on STEEMIT. We like your Post!
We left you a few votes. We hope that's okay ;-)

The first MMORPG on STEEMIT

STEEMPUNK-NET is the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. We hope to meet you on our server!


STEEMPUNKNET Discord

I still remember how it was, owning my first comodore :) and one of the radio stations was transmitting games at midnight so you had to catch it at the beginning to get a free game. Piracy at its finest :D

Yeah, those were the times! I remember ordering tons of pirated cassettes from Belgrade from a "company" called Beosoft - LOL

🚀 This is a stellar post! 🚀

I will be featuring it in my weekly #technology and #science curation post for the @minnowsupport project and the Creators' Guild! The @creatorsguild is a new group of Steem bloggers and content creators looking to improve the overall quality of their niche.

Wish not to be featured in the curation post this Friday? Please let me know. In the meantime, keep up the hard work, and I hope to see you at the Creators' Guild!


If you have a free witness vote and like what I am doing for the Steem blockchain it would be an honor to have your vote for my witness server. Either click this SteemConnect link or head over to steemit.com/~witnesses and enter my username it the box at the bottom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48