You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mac vs PC : The Debate

in #technology6 years ago

I am a big Linux fan and Ubuntu is my current daily use machine. I have all three on my desk currently and as a semi-retired IT Pro I made my living off Windows support. I agree that the OSX looks good and runs fairly well, but having to support Mac users I discovered that Apple likes to change things under the hood. Yes, still BSD based but they would change key support directories and files when doing a version upgrade. So processes developed to support new machine setup broke. I also agree with @darth-azrael about Apple hardware, great fit and finish, but way to much money and way too restrictive on hardware upgrade or expandability.

Sort:  

Thanks for the support perspective. I have never had to support Mac Desktops in an enterprise so didn't notice these under the hood changes.

I've also only occasionally used Linux as a desktop due to the fact there is limited support for the apps I use. I use it every day in the server space but my interactions there are almost exclusively console based.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55