What Was Your First Screen Name?

in #technology8 years ago (edited)

Hey ya'll! I'm posting the obligatory selfie with my account name to confirm my identity. But mostly, because it reminds me of the good old MySpace days, with a hip-hop backwards hat selfie and T-Pain's "I'm Sprung" blasting from my profile page. 

Also ICQ, dialup internet, chat rooms, MSN and hotmail. And if I do say so myself, ratemybody.com - because I was 17 and didn't know any better [sorry, mom]. 

That brings up a very important question - what was your first screen name? 

I find that our first screen names often have a great story around them, and reveal a cool piece of our identity that we may have forgotten as we've officially become adults [meh]. 

My first screen name was Çiçek [pronounced ch-ee-check], which means "flower" in Turkish. Yeah, another confession: I was obsessed with Tarkan [the kiss-kiss song guy], and studied Turkish for a year. I can still count to ten Turkish after a glass of wine [or a smoothie with like 10 superfoods]. 

I'd love to hear your first screen name in comments below and how it came about! 

Sort:  

steemwelcome55.jpg

Demotruk. It was from the computer game Red Alert, short for "Demolition Truck". The name with the c was taken.

Red Alert! I was obsessed with GTA. Thanks for sharing!

My first screen name was Babbar Sher, which means lion in Punjabi. I got this name by beating everyone in my high school in arm wrestling. It was given by my high school sweetheart.

Nice one! Do you still use it?

@mynomadicyear My first screen name was very creative. The origin goes back to after I was born and given a name. Eventually it led to this creation: @joeld. :P

From @joeld to garden whisperer, huh? ;)

Talking to plants is very important in keeping them happy :)

Mine was Rimann..... I can't let it go. Thanks a lot runescape

Screen names from computer games seem to be a thing :)

I think my first ever screen name on bulletin boards was just "tt". I guess I just thought, I'll put a placeholder and choose something cooler later. What a waste of creative potential.

I remember this version from 'Neighbours' star Holly Valance. I think I prefer the original recording

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00