Is Facebook an Anger Addiction?

in #technology7 years ago

I have been using Steemit for just one week now. One of the things that struck me about the Steemit community, is the pleasant tone of the blogs and all of the responses. I am starting to understand that this maybe a refreshing relief relief from Facebook.

images(2).jpg

It is leading me to think of the question; is Facebook an anger addiction? It seems that most topics require people to have angry debates. Not that there is anything wrong with a debate, but they all seem to lead to a point of anger and disharmony.

I think most of us can agree that politics seems to be the most dividing issue. Particularly true in the UK, where there has been 3 major elections on 3 years. The problem comes, when there is only 2 choices or 2 main parties to vote for; you do not support one notion, so it can be taken that you must wholeheartedly support the other. This may not be the case. The electorate may dislike one option, or neither, and therefore just voting for the best fit.

Then there is sport, football in particular. You can't have ration or reason. Instead it will eventually descend into "your team is rubbish,” “they are losers.” I think that's putting it nicely.

The same with Movies, especially if its popular like Star Wars or Batman. It could be about a choice of actor or director. The knives have are out even though the film is in pre-production.

There are many other examples on different topics. Maybe this is why some people just post cats and babies (not that I'm critiscing either). They become afraid to actually give their opinion. It is like the art of intelligent thought is too much for some people, so they decide to shoot you down. They know it all in one sentence.

I wonder then, if the anger stays with people. They return again to Facebook because they want to fuel the flames more. They can't let go. How is this argument developing? An argument this is not productive in its nature.

Ok, let's breathe and be positive.

Breathe a little more.

Maybe a little smile.

IMG_20170724_213705.jpg

I am enjoying Steemit, and I hope that I will be able to express my opinions without being shot down. I can actually think about what I am writing and add a bit of substance.

I may make money from it, I may not. That doesn’t matter so much, but I finding that it has a nice ambience.

It was my wife that introduced me. It is a nice hobby that we can share together.

II would certainly recommend it to any artists, bloggers, photographers as a way expanding your audience.

IMG_20170823_130544.jpg

Sort:  

Yea you might be on to something there. It's definitely a guilty pleasure to make smart ass comments on Facebook, which is something that I've not really felt like doing on Steemit or other mediums. I guess it just comes down to the general vibe of the platform. I wonder if that means that as more angry people join Steemit, it will be led in a similar direction? I do hope not.

I hope not too.

Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67