Turning learning technology into fun for young kids

in #technology8 years ago

I am currently completing my Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering (Electronics) with University of Johannesburg in South Africa. I have always believed electronics should be a hobby thus turning my career into a hobby and making my every day at work fun. There is always something new to learn, new problem to solve, new programming language to master and a new gadget to play around with it. My love and passion for electronics has earned me a lot of awards which can be seen in this article: Inventive engineer virtually pedals his way to top award

Recently I was exhibiting some of my designs at the SA Innovation Summit and was surprised to see a lot of high school kids flocking to the event and showing interest in technology.

I began to teach them how to build mobile applications using MIT App inventor and funny enough they were so happy and excited to learn more.

The star of the day was our self-balancing robot which stole the day. It can stand on its two wheels through PID control and balance itself.

In addition there is an Arduino and Bluetooth which allows an android App to control the robot forward, back, left and right.

School kids were interested in taking up electronics when they get to tertiary and peruse their careers in this fun and interesting field.

Full video of the self-balancing robot can be found here (Youtube)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44