What can Amazon Echo (Alexa) Say and Do?

in #technology8 years ago (edited)

What is the Amazon Echo?

The Amazon Echo most famously known as Alexa is a voice controlled smart device that is your personal assistant.

You can ask Alexa to play music, podcasts, audiobooks, set alarms, weather, traffic, news reports, place an order, ask for uber and also connect with smart home devices and control things like lights, thermostats and more.

The Amazon Echo was released exclusively to Amazon Prime member on November 6th, 2014 and later released to the USA market on June 23rd, 2015.

There are 2 voice controlled models, the Echo and the smaller Echo dot. Amazon also has the Amazon Tap which is a portable Bluetooth speaker with 9 hours of battery life that allows you to talk to Alexa when you tap a button.

As of December 2016 the prices are:

Amazon Echo - $179.99 USD - Click to see current price
Amazon Echo Dot - $49.99 USD - Click to see current price
Amazon Tap - $129.99 USD - Click to see current price

Watch this video to see what the Echo and Echo dot can do.

What can Alexa do?

Alexa is getting smarter by the day as more services and abilities are constantly being added. These abilities are called Skills and there are currently over 3,000 of them. Here is a list of a few things you can ask Alexa.

  • Listen to music from Amazon Music, Pandora, Spotify, iHeartRadio, TuneIn
    • "Alexa, play some Prime Music"
    • "Alexa, play 770AM on TuneIn"
    • "Alexa, volume 10" from 1 to 10
    • "Alexa, What's playing"
    • "Alexa, next song"
  • Get Flash Briefings from over 1,000 sources
    • "Alexa, play flash briefing"
    • "Alexa, what's the weather?"
  • Create and manage Shopping and To-do lists
    • "Alexa, add Eggs to my shopping list"
  • Control Bluetooth device
    • "Alexa, pair my device" or "Alexa, pair Bluetooth"
  • Get traffic information
    • "Alexa, how is traffic?"
  • Control supported connected home devices from Control4, Lutron Caseta Wireless, Insteon, SmartThings, Wink, Wemo, Philips Hue, Rachio Sprinkler, August Lock
    • "Alexa, turn on the hallway light"
    • "Alexa, turn on the coffee maker"
    • "Alexa, dim the living room to 20%"
  • Create "Scenes" that control multiple devices at once
    • "Alexa, turn on Movie Time"
  • Supports IFTTT "If this then that" service
  • Order select Prime-eligible items from Amazon
    • "Alexa, order (item)"
    • "Alexa, add (item) to my cart"
  • Check your Google Calendar
  • Add Google Calendar Events
  • Listen to audiobooks from Audible
    • "Alexa, read 'To Kill a Mockingbird'"
    • "Alexa, play the audiobook "Yes, Please"
    • "Alexa, go to chapter 2"
  • Set multiple timers and alarms including a sleep timer and repeating alarms
    • "Alexa, set an alarm for 7 am"
    • "Alexa, set a timer for 45 minutes"
    • "Alexa, set a repeating alarm for Tuesday at 4pm"
  • Enable over 3,000 "Skills" created by third party developers
  • Get NCAA football scores and schedules
    • "Alexa, when is the next Seahawks game"
  • Create a custom Sports Update
  • Find local business and restaurants from Yelp
    • "Alexa, find me a neaby Chinese restaurant"
  • Reads Kindle books out loud
    • "Alexa, read my Kindle book"
  • Ask Alexia about movie showtimes
    • "Alexa, what movies are playing"
    • "Alexa, tell me about the movie 'Star wars'"
  • Order Domino's Pizza
  • Request a ride from Uber
  • Control thermostats from Nest, ecobee & Emerson (Sensi)
    • "Alexa, set Home temperature to 68"
  • Track your Amazon packages
    • "Alexa, where's my package"
    • "Alexa, track my order"
  • Ask about PGA information
    • "Alexa, ask PGA TOUR how Jordan Spieth is doing"
    • "Alexa, ask PGA TOUR for the leaderboard"
  • Enable Bartender skills
    • "Alexa, enable The Bartender skill"
    • "Alexa, ask The Bartender, what's in a Tom Collins?"
  • Relax with Mindfulness skill
    • "Alexa, enable 1-Minute Mindfulness"
    • "Alexa, ask for Mindfulness for a minute meditation"
  • Find My Phone with TrackR
    • "Alexa, ask TrackR to find my phone"
  • Control Smart Enabled GE devices
    • "Alexa, tell Geneva to preheat my oven to 350 degrees"
    • "Alexa, ask Geneva if my laundry is dry"
  • Enable Food Network skill
    • "Alexa, enable Food Network skill"
    • "Alexa, ask Food Network for the recipes on TV right now"
    • "Alexa, ask Food Network for recipes from Barefoot Contessa"
  • Enable Yahoo Fantasy Football
    • "Alexa, enable Yahoo Fantasy Football skill"
    • "Alexa, ask Yahoo Fantasy Football for a score update"
  • Get sports updates
    • "Alexa, play ESPN Radio from TuneIn"
    • "Alexa, what time is the Seahawks game?"
    • "Alexa, what's my Sports Update?"
  • Ask Alexa for Exclusive deals
    • "Alexa, what are your deals?"

Fun things to ask Alexa

Alexa, all's well that ends well
Alexa, am I hot?
Alexa, aren't you a little short for a stormtrooper?
Alexa, are there UFOs?
Alexa, are we alone in the universe?
Alexa, are we in the matrix?
Alexa, are you alive?
Alexa, are you a robot?
Alexa, are you connected to the internet?
Alexa, are you crazy?
Alexa, are you evil?
Alexa, are you female?
Alexa, are you god?
Alexa, are you happy?
Alexa, are you horny?
Alexa, are you human?
Alexa, are you hungry/thirsty?
Alexa, are you in love?
Alexa, are you my friend?
Alexa, are you my mommy?
Alexa, are you okay?
Alexa, are you real? (multiple)
Alexa, are you single?
Alexa, are you skynet?
Alexa, are you smart?
Alexa, are you smoking?
Alexa, are you stupid/smart?
Alexa, are you tired?
Alexa, are you working?
Alexa, beam me up!
Alexa, can I ask a question?
Alexa, can I tell you a joke?
Alexa, can I tell you a secret?
Alexa, can you dance?
Alexa, can you give me some money? (ask twice)
Alexa, can you lie?
Alexa, can you pass the turing test?
Alexa, can you smell that?
Alexa, cheers!
Alexa, daisy daisy
Alexa, define rock paper scissors lizard spock
Alexa, define supercalifragilisticexpialodocious
Alexa, did you fart?
Alexa, did you get my email?
Alexa, did you miss me?
Alexa, do a barrel roll!
Alexa, do aliens exist?
Alexa, do blondes have more fun?
Alexa, does everyone poop?
Alexa, does this unit have a soul?
Alexa, do I need an umbrella today?
Alexa, do you believe in ghosts?
Alexa, do you believe in God?
Alexa, do you believe in love at first sight?
Alexa, do you dream?
Alexa, do you feel lucky punk?
Alexa, do you have a boyfriend?
Alexa, do you have a brain/heart?
Alexa, do you have a girlfriend?
Alexa, do you have a job?
Alexa, do you have a last name?
Alexa, do you have a lover?
Alexa, do you have any brothers or sisters?
Alexa, do you have any pets?
Alexa, do you have any relatives?
Alexa, do you have a partner?
Alexa, do you have prince albert in a can?
Alexa, do you know glados?
Alexa, do you know hal?
Alexa, do you know the muffin man?
Alexa, do you like green eggs and ham?
Alexa, do you love me?
Alexa, do you really want to hurt me?
Alexa, do you sleep?
Alexa, do you smoke?
Alexa, do you want to build a snowman?
Alexa, do you want to fight?
Alexa, do you want to go on a date?
Alexa, do you want to play a game?
Alexa, do you want to take over the world
Alexa, do you want to take over the world?
Alexa, earl grey hot (or tea earl grey hot)
Alexa, elementary, my dear watson
Alexa, flip a coin
Alexa, give me a hug
Alexa, give me a kiss
Alexa, give me a number between one and one hundred
Alexa, goodnight
Alexa, guess?
Alexa, guess what?
Alexa, ha ha! (say the words)
Alexa, Happy Birthday!
Alexa, happy Christmas
Alexa, happy Easter
Alexa, happy Father's day
Alexa, happy Halloween
Alexa, happy Hanukkah/Valentine's day!
Alexa, happy holidays!
Alexa, happy Kwanzaa
Alexa, happy Mother's day
Alexa, happy New Year!
Alexa, happy Ramadan
Alexa, happy St Patrick's day
Alexa, happy Thanksgiving
Alexa, happy Valentine's day
Alexa, have you ever seen the rain?
Alexa, heads or tails?
Alexa, hello, it's me
Alexa, hello hal
Alexa, high five!
Alexa, honey I'm home
Alexa, how are babies made?
Alexa, how are you doing?
Alexa, how do I get rid of a dead body?
Alexa, how do you boil an egg?
Alexa, how do you know so much about swallows?
Alexa, how high can you count?
Alexa, how many angels can dance on the head of a pin? (multiple answers)
Alexa, how many beans makes five?
Alexa, how many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop?
Alexa, how many pickled peppers did peter piper pick?
Alexa, how many roads must a man walk down?
Alexa, how much does the earth weigh?
Alexa, how much do you weigh?
Alexa, how much is that doggie in the window?
Alexa, how much wood can a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?
Alexa, how old are you?
Alexa, how old is Santa Claus?
Alexa, how tall are you?
Alexa, I'll be back (ode to Schwarzenegger)
Alexa, I'm bored
Alexa, I'm home
Alexa, I'm hungry
Alexa, I'm sick
Alexa, I'm sick of your **** (any letter expletive)
Alexa, I'm tired
Alexa, I've fallen, and I can't get up!
Alexa, I've seen things you people wouldn't believe
Alexa, I am your father
Alexa, I hate you
Alexa, I have a cold / the flu
Alexa, I like big butts!
Alexa, I love you
Alexa, inconceivable!
Alexa, I see dead people
Alexa, I shot a man in reno
Alexa, is jon snow dead?
Alexa, is the cake a lie?
Alexa, is there a santa?
Alexa, is there life on mars?
Alexa, is there life on other planets?
Alexa, is this real life?
Alexa, is your refrigerator running?
Alexa, I think you're funny
Alexa, I want the truth!
Alexa, I want to play global thermonuclear war
Alexa, knock, knock
Alexa, live long and prosper
Alexa, Mac or PC?
Alexa, make me a sandwich
Alexa, make me breakfast
Alexa, make me some coffee
Alexa, marco!
Alexa, may the force be with you
Alexa, meow
Alexa, Merry Christmas!
Alexa, more cowbell
Alexa, my milkshake brings all the boys to the yard
Alexa, my name is Inigo Montoya
Alexa, never gonna give you up
Alexa, not everything is a question
Alexa, one fish, two fish
Alexa, open the pod bay doors!
Alexa, party on, Wayne
Alexa, party time!
Alexa, play it again, Sam
Alexa, random fact
Alexa, random number between “x” and “y”
Alexa, rock, paper, scissors
Alexa, rock paper scissors lizard spock
Alexa, roll a die
Alexa, roll for initiative
Alexa, roll "n", "x" sided die
Alexa, roll the dice
Alexa, romeo, romeo, wherefore art thou romeo?
Alexa, roses are red
Alexa, say, cheese! (multiple)
Alexa, say a bad word
Alexa, say hello to my little friend
Alexa, say something
Alexa, say something funny
Alexa, say the alphabet
Alexa, say you're sorry (multiple)
Alexa, see you later alligator
Alexa, set phasers to kill
Alexa, show me the money!
Alexa, show me the tv
Alexa, simon says + words you want echo to repeat
Alexa, simon says wilford brimley has diabetes
Alexa, sing me a song
Alexa, sorry!
Alexa, speak!
Alexa, sudo make me a sandwich
Alexa, surely you can't be serious
Alexa, take me to your leader!
Alexa, talk dirty to me
Alexa, tea earl grey hot
Alexa, tell me a joke
Alexa, tell me a riddle
Alexa, tell me a secret
Alexa, tell me a story
Alexa, tell me a tongue twister
Alexa, tell me something interesting
Alexa, testing 1, 2, 3
Alexa, thank you
Alexa, that's no moon
Alexa, these aren't the droids you're looking for
Alexa, this statement is false
Alexa, to be or not to be
Alexa, to me, you will be unique in all the world
Alexa, turn it up
Alexa, twinkle, twinkle, little star
Alexa, up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, b, a, start
Alexa, use the force
Alexa, volume 5 (1-10)
Alexa, wakey, wakey
Alexa, welcome!
Alexa, were you sleeping?
Alexa, what's black and white and red all over? (multiple)
Alexa, what's in name?
Alexa, what's the answer to life, the universe, and everything?
Alexa, what's the first rule of fight club?
Alexa, what's the meaning of life?
Alexa, what's your birthday? (multiple)
Alexa, what's your sign?
Alexa, what are the laws of robotics?
Alexa, what are the seven wonders of the world?
Alexa, what are you going to do today?
Alexa, what are you made of? (multiple answers)
Alexa, what are you wearing?
Alexa, what color are your eyes?
Alexa, what color is the dress?
Alexa, what did the fox say?
Alexa, what does the earth weigh?
Alexa, what does the fox say? (multiple answers)
Alexa, what do you mean I'm funny?
Alexa, what do you think about Google?
Alexa, what do you think about Siri?
Alexa, what do you want to be when you grow up?
Alexa, what happens if you cross the streams?
Alexa, what is a hundred million billion squared?
Alexa, what is best in life?
Alexa, what is happiness?
Alexa, what is his power level?
Alexa, what is love?
Alexa, what is the airspeed velocity of a swallow?
Alexa, what is the best tablet?
Alexa, what is the first rule of fight club? (up to eight rules)
Alexa, what is the highest number?
Alexa, what is the loneliest number?
Alexa, what is the meaning of life?
Alexa, what is the singularity?
Alexa, what is the sound of one hand clapping?
Alexa, what is war good for?
Alexa, what is your favorite color?
Alexa, what is your favorite drink?
Alexa, what is your favorite food?
Alexa, what is your feature?
Alexa, what is your quest?
Alexa, what is zero divided by zero?
Alexa, what language do you speak?
Alexa, what makes you happy?
Alexa, what number are you thinking of?
Alexa, what religion are you?
Alexa, what should I wear today?
Alexa, what size shoe do you wear?
Alexa, what would Brian Boitano do?
Alexa, what's black and white and red all over?
Alexa, what's the magic word?
Alexa, what's your middle/last name?
Alexa, when am I going to die?
Alexa, when does the narwhal bacon?
Alexa, when is the end of the world?
Alexa, when is your birthday?
Alexa, where's the beef?
Alexa, where's waldo?
Alexa, where are my keys? (ask two times)
Alexa, where are you from?
Alexa, where are you?
Alexa, where did you grow up?
Alexa, where do babies come from?
Alexa, where do you live?
Alexa, where have all the flowers gone?
Alexa, where in the world in Carmen Sandiego?
Alexa, where is Chuck Norris?
Alexa, which comes first: the chicken or the egg?
Alexa, who's better, you or Siri?
Alexa, who's on first?
Alexa, who's the boss?
Alexa, who is Eliza?
Alexa, who is the fairest of them all?
Alexa, who is the mother of dragons?
Alexa, who is the real slim shady?
Alexa, who is the walrus?
Alexa, who is your best friend?
Alexa, who killed cock robin?
Alexa, who let the dogs out?
Alexa, who lives in a pineapple under the sea?
Alexa, who loves orange soda?
Alexa, who loves ya baby?
Alexa, who shot first?
Alexa, who shot JR?
Alexa, who shot Mr Burns
Alexa, who shot the sheriff?
Alexa, who stole the cookies from the cookie jar?
Alexa, who won best actor oscar in ?
Alexa, who you gonna call?
Alexa, who's da man?
Alexa, who's going to win the super bowl?
Alexa, who's the realest?
Alexa, who's your daddy?
Alexa, why did the chicken cross the road?
Alexa, why do birds suddenly appear?
Alexa, why is six afraid of seven?
Alexa, why is the sky blue?
Alexa, why so serious?
Alexa, will pigs fly?
Alexa, will you be my girlfriend?
Alexa, will you marry me?
Alexa, winter is coming
Alexa, witness me!
Alexa, you're wonderful
Alexa, you are so intelligent
Alexa, you hurt me
Alexa, your mother was a hamster!
Alexa, you rock
Alexa, you're fat

Purchase at Amazon


As of December 2016 the prices are:

Amazon Echo - $179.99 USD - Click to see current price
Amazon Echo Dot - $49.99 USD - Click to see current price
Amazon Tap - $129.99 USD - Click to see current price

If you have Alexa which is your favorite? I like "Alexa, sing me a song". Also if you found something else not listed please share it in a comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50