You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top Security Tips For Android Users: How To Keep Your Device Secure

in #technology7 years ago

Very useful and important article. An additional security measure when it comes to malicious apps is to avoid the Play Store all together, and instead use F-Droid whenever possible. It's a software center with only free/open source applications. The apps found in this repository rarely requires unneccesary permissions.

Sort:  

I discovered a neat little app by accident in F-Droid the other day; IsPhoneEncrypted. A tiny app that checks whether your phone is encrypted or not. It turns out my new Samsung phone was encrypted by default!

IsPhoneEncrypted FDroid.jpg

Inspired by your post, I wrote a follow-up article on F-Droid:
https://steemit.com/security/@mightpossibly/use-f-droid-better-android-security-for-anyone

@jrswab I hope it's appropriate to post this link here. If not, I'll remove it at once.

It's all good with me! Thanks for sharing <3

I'm glad! On another note, it would be really interesting to hear what you think about it. When and if you have time of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59