Simple Ops automation using Zabbix, Rundeck and OTRS

in #technology6 years ago

Some time ago I decided to link my favorite tools together. Zabbix for monitoring, which I'm now using more then 10 years, and Rundeck for job execution. But with those two powerful tools I want to integrate also some service management software. I tested a lot of ticketing systems, but the winner was OTRS. It's powerful and I like the REST interface.

So my idea for process flow was:

  1. Zabbix server PROBLEM trigger is activated, action is configured to send email to local postfix server
  2. Local postfix server script handles incoming email and using Rundeck API executes job with options passed from email notification
  3. Rundeck job creates new ticket in OTRS and acknowledge trigger event in Zabbix with OTRS ticket ID and Rundeck execution ID note
  4. Then the same job executes defined tasks to fix issue on server and updates OTRS ticket with script output
  5. If problem is fixed, Zabbix server OK trigger is activated, proceed same way like PROBLEM trigger, but executes "OK" Rundeck job
  6. "OK" Rundeck job then update or close OTRS ticket based on previous PROBLEM execution state

Here you can see example OTRS ticket log:

If you want you can try it yourself, just follow the README instructions in my GitLab project zabbix-rundeck-otrs.  Good luck.

Sort:  

@mhaluska, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Congratulations @mhaluska! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mhaluska! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47