Do you rival Crash Override?! Do you have a 1337 h4x0r in your midst? Bless them/yourself with the most sacred gift of all, The Hacker Quarterly: 2600 Magazine!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Yes, they take Bitcoin for subscriptions :-).


"The Hacker Quarterly," Since 1984.

2600: The Hacker Quarterly is an American seasonal publication of technical information and articles, many of which are written and submitted by the readership, on a variety of subjects including hacking, telephone switching systems, Internet protocols and services, as well as general news concerning the computer "underground".
With origins in the phreaking community and late 20th century counterculture, 2600 and its associated conference transitioned to coverage of modern hacker culture, and the magazine has become a platform for speaking out against increased digital surveillance and advocacy of personal and digital freedoms.
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2600:_The_Hacker_Quarterly

I evangelize about this magazine to anyone that I get the opportunity to speak to that shows the smallest hint of being interested in "hacking," information/network security, digital freedom, cryptocurrency, or simply tech in general. If you lived through the security scene of the 1990's or the 1980's for that matter, you've probably heard of 2600 or even owned and read a few issues.

This little magazine comes out at the beginning of each season of the year, bringing you the latest in underground information! The more subversive and forward thinking, the better! The content is all user generated as well. If you get an article published, you get a free year subscription and a shirt/hoodie, pretty nice.

This publication has a LOT of history to it as it has been spearheading its space since 1984, kicking it all off showcasing the latest craze at the time "Telephone Phreaking." Think "hacking," but with phones. Humans have been hacking everything since the dawn of time, it's how things evolve technologically and move into the future for the next iteration of "stuff."

To give you an idea of what you're in store for, here's what the Spring 2017 edition brought to the table:

Anyways, I'm just bringing this to light for some folks in case they're unaware of its existence. I thoroughly enjoy each and every issue (I own every issue since its inception, it makes for an awesome library piece) and I know that many of you in this space would certainly enjoy it as well.

You can subscribe to the publication either digitally (boooo!) or physically (this nets you way more cool points in life)

For Physical Subscriptions: https://store.2600.com/collections/subscriptions-renewals
For Digital Subscriptions: http://www.2600.com/magazine/digital-editions.html
Back Issues: https://store.2600.com/collections/back-issues

Yes!
They accept Bitcoin for subscriptions, back issues, and other merch in their store!

So you can effectively buy anything that they offer with Steem by converting it into BTC. Or of course, you can spend regular old monopoly money, but who does that anymore?

What are you waiting for?! Expand your mind or someone elses! Buy yourself a subscription or give one as a gift!

Until next time . . .

-Matt-A

Sort:  

What a professional magazine!
Thank you for introducing it.

You're welcome! If you have any interest in security or general subversive ideologies, you'd love this magazine.

I think it might be too esoteric for me, lol.

There's readable stuff in there for the technological layman!

Spoke at Hope11 last year which is conference hosted by 2600 in NYC and have read since I was a kid :-) They Capture the hacker mind very good.

I've got to be honest with you. I started reading this article curiously. Now having finished I know It's gonna take me another couple of hours to fully understand what it exactly says. I'll try though.

Cheers,

Haha sorry if it's written in weird language. If I can help you understand any particular parts please let me know and I'll try my best to help you.

I remember seeing these in Barnes and Noble many many years ago. I think it was the same magazine. Very cool set of articles. Very informative and well written.

Yep. They still carry them, too. I was surprised to see them there to be honest. Pretty much the ONLY magazine I'll buy. No ads either!

Thats crazy that that is still around. I havent read it in a long time. Nor have i doe anything similar to what they write about in a long time niether.

But whats really crazy is what the word "hacked" means today. It doesnt mean what it used to. Now it just means to Tweak something.

I'm going to have to look into this for my 16 year old son. He loves that kind of stuff. I mean he reads Malwarebyte's blog first thing everyday. You think he would want it?

You would absolutely blow his mind and he would probably wonder if you're some kind of deep cover agent or something.

One of the greatest Zine's ever, and has been on a topic that is still current today, which is basically freeing information.

Yup, I love them. They evolve with the times and have been now for over 30 years! Amazing collective of people. Take part! It is what the people make it. I was published in there once, got a free subscription!

What!? That is awesome! What topic did you hit? You should repost the article on your Steemit, would love to read it, that is so damn cool

It was actually some photo work that I had published there, wish it was a written article! Maybe someday? I really wanted to write about Steem for it.

Still cool. Hell even if it was a public phone on the back cover it would be cool. I want to head to a book store this weekend and pick up whatever the newest issue is from a book stand, I wonder what decentralized or blockchain related articles will no doubt be in it.

Don't forget you can also nab them digitally! Or buy them as single issues straight from 2600 with BTC!

Good post .... although I do not understand everything but it is very interesting to read ....

A quarterly magazine on hacking and they accept bitcoin. I am assuming there are hackfests and hackers conventions out there too. How about a how to DVD available on amazon. maybe a hacking for dummies. Before you know it it will be taught in our school systems.

2600 has a conference called HOPE (Hackers On Planet Earth) that is held in NY. The last time I went was 2006 and I made very good friends from it.

Yep, I've always wanted attend HOPE.

This particular magazine has been deep rooted in the scene since 1984. They aren't your run of the mill cheesy, fake, trying to look cool, security publication. It's a great magazine.

They started HOPE convention, definitely a good one, I think they are on their 12th year now.

I agree that it will be attempted to be taught in schools, but it's hard to teach a mode of thinking to someone. I feel like someone has to be "wired," in a way to think subversively and to always be analyzing things in a ways of "can I break this?" "Can I make this do something that it isn't supposed to do?" "Can I hack this in some manner?!"

how did i not know this was a thing until now? :|

Because I hadn't shown you it yet ;-).

Merry Christmas!

Thanks for the info gonna be looking in to getting this in the very future

That would be a wise move, always good stuff to read and then discuss in there.

I didn't know about 2600, I thank you for the awareness. I think it sounds like something I'd enjoy. I'll probably subscribe, TBH :)

Awesome! It's just $27 a year, just earn that in Steem and buy a subscription! I think you would learn a lot :-).

Bro, that's the hit -- KNOWLEDGE :) But seriously, I'm going to do your plan -- Pay for it with Steem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66