You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Linux Mint Installation Tutorial - Full Install in 10 Minutes!

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Thanks for good article, there are however still few things that prevent wider Linux adoption. I actually want to write article about it. If you are a basic user who just browses internet and watches some YouTube videos then Linux might be actually great for you and even better than Windows because it is safer.

But that's only in case you'll not run in any problems such as driver incompatibility or non-existence. For instance there is no Linux driver for the OKI printer we have at home. Also I have quite a big problems with Multi-monitor setup with cinnamon desktop. HiDPI scaling is quite bad, I have really hard time to set it up in a way that makes my system usable in the laptop display mode and when I connect my external widescreen. X does not natively support different scaling for two displays . Maybe I can solve it by tuning and hacking xrandr and other settings for 4+ hours but some beginners would just go straight back to Windows, where the printer works and multi-monitor setup works with correct scaling right out of the box.

Also when something stops working you have the helpline (I know it sucks, but at least there is something). My mum will not be browsing forums, api docs and asking on stackexchange how to resolve that problem with laptop not being able to print with generic drivers. And for sure she will not be compiling some 3rd party utils to make it work.

I would be very happy if Linux adoption increases, but unfortunately there are still some things that need to change. But I am quite positive this is going to happen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55