Weekly Tech Article #5 Tesla's Electric Induction MotorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology6 years ago

Good evening my fellow Steemians!

It's a new week and time for another technology article highlighting technologies that I believe are bringing humanity closer to a world of abundance.

Today I want to talk about the technology behind the Tesla Model S electric motor. The model S is using an inductive AC motor in its vehicles which give it several advantages over other types of electric motors even the more top of the line brushless DC motors. The main difference between the two motors is that the AC induction motor has no magnets that have a possibility to overheat in a brushless DC motor. Using complex control electronics it is possible to provide the proper frequencies the motor to allow for the better performance. The beauty of the motor is since the frequencies can be tuned the wires in the motor can stay cool and may have much more longevity and can handle all types of abuse.

17-tesla-model-s-development-1300678240.jpg
Sauce
Check out this article if you want to go into further learning https://www.tesla.com/blog/induction-versus-dc-brushless-motors

Also check out this video by Jehu Garcia

cropped-LogoV1-2.png Peace and Joy @makinstuff

Thank you for your time if you gave this a read.

If you like what I have going on, leave me a comment, Follow, Upvote, and Re-steem to all your peeps!

Sort:  

I just talking to a guy at work who's son is an engineer for Tesla. It sounds like it is exciting and fun until Elon shows up at the plant. Then he spends a lot of time trying to avoid doing things that Elon has ordered him to do without thinking it through.

Yeah...... I don't know how that dude does it I'm sure he's somewhat of a perfectionist.

Sweet post !! :D I believe Tesla uses permanent magnet motors for their Model 3 :).

I gotta do more reading on that, Maybe the control systems for this method were proving problematic. Thanks @gray00, I'll dig further, thanks again for getting me tumbling down the Jack Rickard rabbit hole! He's got some amazing knowledge.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you so much!

howdy again sir makinstuff! well sir I don't know much about electric motors and all but I wanted to show my support by dropping in.

Thanks @janton, its totally fascinating to me, hope you found it entertaining. We'll all be saying step on the electrons before too long! haha

howdy again makinstuff! well with these advancements made in electric motor technology I believe we will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44