How the iPad got my art backsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #technology7 years ago

Sketch of the day - Dorkbot.jpg

Do you like my new avatar? :)

This month I challenged myself to sketch every day. I feel like everyone should have a creative outlet, but work, family, commitments often gets in the way - especially if your art involves materials, tools, mess.

Thanks to the iPad Pro and the Pencil, I got my drawing mojo back.

It's the closest I have found to the experience of pens on paper.

Sketch of the day - Hero Guy.jpg

When I was a kid I was a voracious comics reader. I could never replicate the art I saw in those pages, but I had fun trying.

With the iPad I don't have to feel any guilt for "waste" because being digital, there is no waste. Wipe and start over.

Dozing dog.jpg

And that means I can just draw and see where my drawings take me. Random, unplanned, and with many mediums replicated, from ink to water colour.

I am using Adobe Sketch, it has all kinds of pre-made "tools", they have textures and behaviours just like real world counterparts. In addition I am going to find a compatible screen protector that has a paper like surface while still allowing the pencil to behave as well as with no protector.

Judge Dredd.jpg

Whatever your mood or topic, you can see if you can manifest it on the virtual page.

Not only does it provide a creative outlet, this no pressure doodling is relaxing!

Obviously by trying to force myself to draw every day I have a self-imposed deadline, but I hope once the month is over I will continue. It's like a gym for my creative brain :)

Sort:  

@makerhacks,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curation Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Those are really cool artworks for being made with just an ipad! Very cool! Keep it up for sure!

please reply and I will nominate your post to the @OCD Curators!

Absolutely and thank you :)

Excellent post. Yes - mine was the Samsung Note 8 with S Pen ... upvoted. Found you on the " Steemit Aritsts" Facebook group http://www.facebook.com/groups/steemitartists

Thank you! I tried the Surface too, but decided on the iPad and Pencil :)

Let us know what protector you are using so I can go get one. I'll be on the search for one as well and will post back if I find a winner.

So far the ones I have seen available in Canada are two glossy or thick but other people say they have them so hopefully will get a good fit :)

its cool how you can zoom in to add detail on those digital drawing machines :)

i can dig that, found you @OCD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74