You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Headphone Maker Sued For Allegedly Spying On Listening Habits Of Users

in #technology7 years ago
The legal complaint that has been launched against Bose, alleges that they specifically violated the WireTap Act, along with state privacy laws.

I don't know much about the WireTap Act, but here in my country it is no big deal as long as the company isn't selling the data to a third-party company. It maybe necessary for the company to improve on the product. But they should let every customer know about it

Sort:  

I found this post informative and I shared it on Twitter
https://twitter.com/MrLucasHunter/status/871410406580989953

MrLucasHunter Abolade Lucas tweeted @ 04 Jun 2017 - 16:56 UTC

The Bose wireless headphones are able to spy on the customers through an app

steemit.com/technology/@do… / https://t.co/Oba8TwERqs

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

it's alleged that is what they were doing

I'm not really sure this even falls under the jurisdiction of the WireTap Act. Obviously this is something for the courts to decide, but from what I could gather it seems like Bose is just logging information about what their users are listening to, and not intercepting or otherwise listening in on the actual song. It's honestly probably no different from any other music service (maybe apart from the selling to a third party thing) since I'm sure they all collect metrics around what people listen to. Personally I don't see how this law can apply in it's current form.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66146.36
ETH 3281.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70