Google Assistant now making phone calls - Has it passed the Turing test?

Yesterday I watched the livestream of Google I / O 2018 and one thing in particular stunned me completely.

Google has demonstrated how the Google Assistant makes a call to schedule an appointment with a hairdresser. Watch the video here:

This is absolutely fascinating how the Assistant behaves. The way it speaks is so humane that we have to honestly ask ourselves if the Turing test has already been passed.
The original task of the Turing test was that a human being can no longer tell whether he is talking to a human or to a machine.
In my opinion, this task is fulfilled by the Google Assistant.

The next step would be for the assistant to learn to mimic my voice and then make calls with my voice, so even good friends of mine can not tell the difference between me and the Google Assistant.
For example, I do not feel like talking to a friend and let the assistant take over.
Depending on how well the assistant knows me, it can act completely in my sense.
On the one hand a fascinating idea, on the other hand somehow scary.

This reminds me a bit of the Black Mirror episode "White Christmas"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Christmas_(Black_Mirror)

Now I'm interested in your opinion. What kind of feelings do the new Google Assistant skills bring to you? Do you see a great opportunity or do you think it's scary?
Do you agree that the Google Assistant already passed the Turing Test?

Sort:  

Congratulations @lifesciencemusic! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lifesciencemusic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99