You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Programming] Digging In the DB and Hitting a Wall

in #technology7 years ago

Would you believe that's running on Windows 10 in Jupyter Lab? And everything you see on the screen there is actually running in my browser window (and I tend to use Vivaldi when I'm working with content).

Yes, it's an integrated multilanguage IDE/data research environment which runs in a web browser as its primary interface, with draggable windows, frames, built-in management systems – the whole 9 yards.

I have no idea how I got by as a programmer many many years ago without something this nice.

Also – it's free.

Sort:  

Aye, thanks for the info! Lemme ask some more questions, as I am a workflow afficionado and based ona large response you seem to be one too :D
If you're full screen, how do you manipulate files? No windows taskbar :( I personally use brackets for web design because of that handy live preview feature, for other coding purposes Sublime, and text writing Notepad++.


(n++ pictured, oh how I love custom styling, cached files... <3 )

I've tried Vivaldi and it was b-e-a-utiful and then I realized it is very low on extensions and had to let it go. Maybe I give it another go since it's been I believe more than a year.

Cheers

Well, in Jupiter Lab, the interface is capable of hosting multiple panels, so I often have at least two panels with code in them, and an interpreter monitor at the bottom of one of those columns.

For browsing, it's definitely Vivaldi, at least when I'm trying to put together some work, and that the browser itself can tile tabs across the screen. If you use a web-hosted editor like StackEdit, that can be tucked into any screen you like. When I'm developing longer pieces, my usual text editing environment is Gingko, which makes managing section content extremely easy, and that's just running in a tab somewhere, over to the side or at the bottom of her frame.

Vivaldi can use any of the plug-ins in the Chrome architecture, so I have no idea what you're talking about when you suggest that it's low on extensions. That's a big pile of extensions.

But mainly – I just cheat. I have two monitors. The right hand monitor is typically used for email, Discord, chats, social media, and my editing environment while the main screen on the left is primarily for reference material, video editing, 3D modeling systems, games – whatever needs to be the focus of what I'm doing.

I'm at the point where a third monitor wouldn't go unused, but I have literally nowhere to put it in the tight confines here with two microphones, a mixing board, studio speakers, and a reference bookshelf.

But – yes, my main solution is cheating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61833.67
ETH 2414.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57