You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tesla Model 3: The Beginning of the End of Gasoline Cars?

in #technology7 years ago

I'm concerned that Tesla loses massive amounts of money on all fronts. It's not a business so much as a taxpayer-subsidy funded research and development group.

Tesla loses money everyday with no end in sight. The stock should be worth a lot less, I think. I hope it all works out as a loss-leader in the end.

Sort:  

That might be a problem in the short term but companies have come out of even more dire situations than this. Also, I don't know where I read this, but I read that "experts" believe it will be one of the most valuable companies in just 5 years.

Indeed.

I presume that by "Valuable" they mean market cap, which these days seems to be somewhat divorced from actual profitability. Earnings per share numbers are starting to look a little nuts imo.

Thanks for posting!

While both I and Musk agree with your statement below about the market cap being crazy, the "taxpayer-subsidy" statement is a bit trite. Telsa is nearly entirely funded on revenue and shareholder investment. Their position would be mostly unchanged without tax incentives, unlike the heavily-subsidized and yet insanely profitable oil industry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68398.12
ETH 3837.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65