You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Build project: Office computer - Episode 3 - Computer assembly

in #technology7 years ago

Lets see:

Home PC - Ubuntu / Win 7 (Dual Boot)
Work PC - Debian
Raspberry Pi (1, 2, 3) most on Raspbian or Dietpi or arch linux
Most Servers I work on are either Debian or Centos. I rarely work with Windows unless it's a clients server. The last one I actually got paid to do a full live swap from windows to linux for their site, it's featured in Google news (well known).

I could use photoshop and Office programs on Win 7, or about 4 other free similar software on linux. Games are a little harder to get the same selection, but Steam has made a place for linux developers too, they even cobbled together a steam branded Linux OS to make it easier for some.

Linux OS are generally free to download, so it's a matter of following how to guides and they can work of a USB stick until you install to a HD.
User interface vary from DOS to Classic Windows to uniquely linux, the point is, they know most are ex-windows people and it's best to stick to what people know.

MS did use to make a really good interface, easy to use, they just screwed that up with 10, it was designed for a tablet interface, not a laptop or desktop.
The forced installs, was also very dodgy as well, but I knew how to avoid that, not everyone does.

I don't dislike Windows, I like what it use to be, I don't like what it has became. I don't use it as much either which is a combining factor. I only use it because the developer of the software only made for windows for no other reason than he or she did not want to, not they can't.

Sort:  

I think that linux is more similar to android than windows. Windows 8 was completely designed for tablets but windows 10 uses best features of windows 7 in combination with new cool features that windows 8 has but in non-tablet edition. Maybe I will install some linux on my pc in dual boot for a month. What linux do you recommend me to try?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52