Does your smartphone create 'brain drain' just by being around you?

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

What if I told you that you don't even have to be using your phone -- or have it on -- in order for it to affect your cognitive capacity? Pretty wild, but it turns out to be true for many of us.

Smart phones can potentially make us smarter in some ways, like not needing to use our memory to hold many phone numbers or remember people's birthdays. This frees up space for other more important things. We can use our memory and thinking for critical analysis or even creative thinking. There are many conveniences like connecting to people from all over the world, search for something, watching shows, playing games, listening to music, etc. Smartphones have broken the barriers of technology being in a specific location, used to perform a specific task, even more than laptops did.

Everything we do seems to now be connected through one device, our smart phone. Wherever we go, there is our phone with us, ready to connect us to anything except our immediate environment that we find ourselves in. We wake up and check our phones, much like we do with computers. But as the day goes on, we keep using our phones anywhere we are. Whether we are stuck in traffic, waiting in line, or laying in bed, smart phones have connected us to more data for our attention shift it's focus around.

With an average of 85 interactions with our smartphones each day, it's no wonder that 91% of people surveyed say they never leave home without it. Smartphones have become such a part of many people's daily lives, that 46% report they wouldn't be able to live without their phones. How true that is for many of us without knowing it. Remove our phones and many of our lives would change.

We end up placing our attention on things for shorter periods of time. Even if we aren't switching from one thing to another on our phone, we're going from paying attention to our phones, then back to the environment we are in, and then back to our phones again. reduces our attention span and concentration. Concentration requires that we focus our attention on something for extended periods of time. But we are so used to seeking out stimulation for us to pay attention to, that fixating on one task becomes a problem for many of us.

Smartphones free time and memory, but unexpected deficits emerge in our ability to concentrate.

Have you ever tried writing something -- or doing something that doesn't involve your phone -- yet keep getting distracted and "interrupted" by your phone? The notifications draw our attention. Usually they are about someone contacting us, and we like getting that attention. We want to interact, give and receive attention.

What about when your phone is off? Does the mere presence of your phone keep nagging at you, almost as if it's whispering in your ear begging you to turn it on and pay attention to something? What if so-and-so send me a message? What if I'm missing an important email right no?

Our cognitive resources have a limited capacity. If we are automatically paying attention to our phone then these limited resources are being used up which causes the performance of other tasks to suffer. A new study has come out to test if the presence of a smart phone induces a "brain drain" on our control of attention.

The summary of the study is that 800 people put their phones on silent while they took a series of tests that require full concentration. Some people took the test with their phones on the desk, while others didn't have their phones in the same room. The results suggest the presence of someone's own smartphone is enough to reduce capacity to concentrate and impairs the cognitive functioning that is required at the time. Another experiment was based on how much people value their phones. Those who had the most dependence on their phone were the most negatively affected during the tests. But this was only the case if their phone was within sight.

Forcing ourselves to not do something we normally do -- like be drawn to our phones, to pay attention to them, to use them -- still has us using cognitive processes to not think. This creates a "brain drain" that affects us, such as affecting our capacity to concentrate. Tying to not use our phone, to force ourselves to not think about it, takes up cognitive power.

What's your experience with your own phone addiction, or lack thereof? Do you like to be with your phone at all times? Can you handle being without your phone for a day? Does not having your phone with you matter at all? How would your life change if smarphones were gone? In my case it doesn't matter. I don't even use it much. I do use my computer though ;)


Thank you for your time and attention! I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Take care. Peace.

Sort:  

That's pretty wild stuff. I have read before how the tone of receiving a text or message gives a similar amount seratonin (the love hormone) released into your body as when you receive a hug. We are set up to feel good about using our phones. At least once we start and become conditioned to them. I recently deleted my Instagram and Facebook from my phone and I would often find myself grabbing my phone and swiping back and forth doing nothing, where I would have previously been on one of the two sites doing the same. Kinda of scary stuff when you think about it.

I have read before how the tone of receiving a text or message gives a similar amount seratonin (the love hormone) released into your body as when you receive a hug. We are set up to feel good about using our phones.

Very interesting, thanks for adding that.

often find myself grabbing my phone and swiping back and forth doing nothing, where I would have previously been on one of the two sites doing the same.

That is also very interesting, and more funny :) The automated habit of scrolling, expecting to do that behavior. Was there a feeling of something "lost"?

Yeah, I would flip back and forth between the two screens on my iphone that hold all my apps, with no intended purpose at all. So not scrolling, but essentially the same automated response. Honestly, it scared me a bit.

Smartphones are indeed a great technological advancement that brings so much convenience to humans. But we surely cannot neglect the downside of them and its certainly worth the attention. It's not uncommon to see children these days playing with the cell phone even if they're just kindergarten kids. This is very much worrying as the overreliance on phone not only brings about health concerns but also social problems like parents not interacting with children as well as the days when cell phones were just a device for calling. I'm not even sure if it's really good for cell phones to have evolved into what they now are.

Hehe, yeah, it used to be the TV. Put the kid in front of the TV. Then console games. Then computers. Now its smartphones... Thanks for the feedback.

I always try to remove my phone from every experience when I'm on vacation for the reasons you listed above. I honestly never wanted a smart phone (because I knew it would be highly addicting and remove my focus from more important tasks).

My first smart phone was issued by my employer (there were no "flip phone" options anymore). I found myself frequently searching the internet while I was away from a computer; checking sports scores, looking at the news, avoiding doing work...

I feel that younger generations are losing out on building interpersonal relationship skills because of how integrated smart phones (and tablets) have become in their lives. All they care about is sharing personal accomplishments on frequently single-player games. That's not actually sharing an experience..

I hope that my generation (those of us in our 30s who grew up without a cell phone / smart phone in their hands) will teach the next generation how to properly balance their real life and their digital life. Because there is no doubt that the current generation NEEDS to be involved in social media in order to keep up with society, but the extent in which they need to be involved can be significantly decreased from what I'm seeing as the current standards.

Great article again! Thanks!

I found myself frequently searching the internet while I was away from a computer; checking sports scores, looking at the news, avoiding doing work...

Yeah, it's so addictive. I think it's just whatever is more interesting, more appealing to our interests. Work isn't as appealing lol.

How does one compete with quick access attention grabbing stuff? Keeping the mind occupied is enticing.

Thanks for the great feedback :)

I just got a brilliant idea (or at least I think so haha) ... Wouldn't it be great for the world if we had a month where no one could use their smart phone for anything outside of making a phone call!?

It would be interesting to track how much productivity would increase across the globe if it actually happened :)

Disable all wifi and mobile data? Seems impossible lol, but interesting idea. People would have to find something else to do hehe. Thanks for the feedback.

I don't know the usual protocol, but this user posted your article verbatim.

Edited out the link because you're aware now, and that user might repent...

I held out a long time for a smart phone. Yes technology is a trade off. As our culture has become a ' convenience based' society. Yet with all our conveniences, tech has enslaved us and even addicted us to the point we don't get out and commune with nature anymore. Thanks for the article.

Concrete jungles are the place to be, all centralized, stacking vertically :P Thanks for the feedback, good points.

Never had this problem - my phone is always in silent mode. I just hate it buzzing and vibrating.

Keeping an object of addiction in front of an addict and telling him/her not to touch it causes a lot of unnecessary fixation on the object, which is why it is recommended people keep things they try to give up away. So I am not surprised the presence of their favorite smartphone made people less capable to focus on other things. This is really not new, but this study helps make smartphone addiction a thing) I hope we don't go diagnosing people with it because I swear there will be a pharmaceutical company selling another psychoactive drug to us.

LOL! Yeah watch out, no DSM-V for smartphone addiction... another excuse to get high with pills. Good points on the addiction aspect. Thanks for the feedback.

Personally, I would like to get rid of my phone completely. Unfortunately, it would seem that living in the modern world without one of these devices can cause discomfort for others who fear they will not be able to contact me should they have to. I appreciate and accept that smartphones can be extremely useful at times as with all technology but should I carry around a phone with me for the rest of my life just in case there is an emergency? Of course not! But when there IS an emergency will I regret not having my phone with me or switched on? Will others blame me for not being within reach when I could have been? Probably. So for that reason I must carry it with me at all times! There is no getting away from it perhaps but there was a time before these devices existed and things seemed to work ok then as far as I rememeber.

Not to mention the unknown long term health dangers posed by these 'smart' phones which we are yet to fully realise!

Yeah they are handy, but what is the real long term consequence of all this microwave energy, close to our headss, etc. Sometimes we move too fast as I see it. Thanks for the feedback.

Not a problem @krnel. Just enjoyed your latest post also! I have a young son and one day I would like him to be able to say that he became a good man not by the way his father taught him but by the way his father lived his own life.

I'm slowly trying to unlearn all of the bad habits I have been taught in my life so far in order to make that so!

Another excellent post!

Enjoy the rest of your day!

Great post Krnel. My wife is encouraging me to not bring the iPad and iPhone into the bedroom. Perhaps she is on to something. 😊Shared on Facebook and twitter. Upvoted and resteemed..

Haha, yeah maybe, listen to her ;) Thanks for the feedback and support.

Wow, interesting article. Thanks for sharing 100%upvoted from @chanthasam

46% say they can't live without their phone. Wow. That is a lot of power they are giving up to a device. Incredible. This is a freaking awesome blog. Nice work. I personally try to limit my phone interactions. I try not to use it unless I have to. I'm addicted to my computer though. so Kinda the same thing. I could live without it though. I would make less money, but I could live without it.Great post.

Yeah technology, our psyche gets drawn in a lot hehe. Thanks for the feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29