🌍 INVENTIONS: Where to next? ---> THE COMPASS 🧭

in #technology6 years ago (edited)

150721112349-02-earth-photo-super-tease.jpg

Photo Source

steem crta.png

Hello Steemians!

It's been a while since I did a invention post, lets see if I still got it. Today we'll discover a thing or two about a very interesting topic ---> THE COMPASS!

Compass.gif

“Though pleas'd to see the dolphins play, I mind my compass and my way.”

― Matthew Green

A compass is a device used to determine direction on the surface of the earth but I'm sure most people reading this already know it. The first ones were invented more than 2,000 years ago. The first compasses were made of lodestone, a naturally magnetized ore of iron, in Han dynasty China between 300 and 200 BC. Compass was later used for navigation by the Song Dynasty. How did they work was the first thing on my mind. ---> The Earth is a magnet that can interact with other magnets in this way, so the north end of a compass magnet is drawn to align with the Earth's magnetic field. Because the Earth's magnetic North Pole attracts the "north" ends of other magnets, it is technically the "South Pole" of our planet's magnetic field.

Model Si Nan of Han Dynasty

Model_Si_Nan_of_Han_Dynasty.jpg

Photo Source

arrow_down_black.gif

Magnetic Liquid Filled Compass

Magnetic-Liquid-Filled-Compass-2in-500x554.jpg

Photo Source

Later on compasses were made of iron needles, magnetized by striking them with a lodestone. Dry compasses begin appearing around 1300 in Medieval Europe and the Islamic world. This was replaced in the early 20th century by the liquid-filled magnetic compass. This one we know, correct? When I first saw that spoon from China a sudden urge to laugh took over me. As long it works, right? Nevertheless, our ancestors had some briliant ideas. Below us are drawings of a compass, one made way back in China while other one in mid 14th-century by a French inventor Peter Peregrinus. Check it out!

Ming-marine-compass.jpg

Screenshot_1.png

What would we do without it? Yeah, you might think its not a big deal in this time and age. Its everywhere tho. Technology evolves exponentially and we always need a bit of something from the past so we can take it to the next level.

improve-gps-136404499880902601.jpg

That's all for today, make sure to check the links below if you want to learn some more historical fact and stuff. Knowledge is power!

Research Source:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_the_compass

http://www.encyclopedia.com/science-and-technology/technology/technology-terms-and-concepts/compass

steem crta.png

Until next time, thanks for stopping by! I upvote cool comments so go for it, any upvote or resteem is much appreciated! Take care & stay awesome!


finish.gif
Sort:  

It is very interesting. I love the copper one. I didnt thought that it is very ancient. Thank you for sharing :)

I tell you bro the last time I used a compass was back in the year 2000 when I was in the army and we where out in the woods using it with maps was fun but after that I never used one again.

Nice post and you still have it ;)

LOVE&LIGHT

I guess I had one when I was a camper in middle school, to be honest, I like GPS better :)

Thanks, nice to hear that!:-P

Cheers bro!

It is so intriguing what the world and the human being are doing, all the advances and enigmas that technology brings us. As well as yours, I hope you like my post.
https://steemit.com/science/@carlosparejo/travel-in-time-a-close-reality

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50