Discovering Ecosia - Planting Trees by Surfing the Web

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Discovering Ecosia

Changing my habits and lifestyle to match my beliefs will be a long road full of challenges but also the exciting chance to learn. While contemplating the immense amount of research I will perform in my near future, I came across an interesting opportunity to make even my method of research fit my new lifestyle. I’m talking about a search engine that plants trees while I surf the web… I’m talking about Ecosia.

What is Ecosia?

Ecosia is a social business run by a small group of dedicated individuals who strive to create tools that empower everyone to do good - mainly by planting trees through the use of ad revenue. Founded in 2009, this movement has already planted over 7 million trees!

How does it work?

Using Ecosia is simple. After downloading this search engine, simply browse the Internet like normal. Search ads generate income for Ecosia and this income is used to plant trees! That’s it!

More specifically, Ecosia shows ads next to its search results (called EcoAds). Every time you click on one of these ads, they are paid by Microsoft Bing for having directed users to their advertisers.

Ecosia then distributes monthly payments of the profits to their tree-planting partners around the world. They even share the exact amount of funds received by each organization in public tree planting receipts.

Is it a scam?

That’s the first question I asked as well. It simply sounds too good to be true! But Ecosia is pretty transparent. They publish their monthly financial reports and tree planting receipts in order to hold themselves accountable and earn trust. They are also in regular contact with their partners so they have a constant flow of information and are always up to date when it comes to their specific need for financial support.

To stay informed, you can follow their blog, sign up for their newsletter, or check out one of their many social media pages.

Where are the trees planted?

Ecosia has partnered with multiple cooperatives in different locations all over the world. They include:

Ecosia recently announced they will also begin planting trees in Tanzania with The Friends of the Usambara Society!

Of course, the type of tree depends on the location. Ranging from the rubber tree in Indonesia to the Acacia tree in Madagascar, you can browse the many different species and see exactly what you are planting.

Why choose to plant trees?

There are a lot of organizations and movements throughout the world. Why did Ecosia choose to plant trees instead of supporting any of these other causes? According to their FAQ page,

“Of course planting trees is excellent for the environment. After all, trees are the most efficient CO2 absorbers on the planet. Trees help mitigate climate change, restart water cycles, keep deserts from spreading and turn barren grounds back into fertile woods and farmland.” 

“But planting trees also means nourishing communities. Fresh, nutritious forest goods can either be directly consumed by the local communities or sold on the local markets. This improves people’s health and allows them to build their lives in newly revitalized areas instead of having to migrate in search of better living conditions. Local women and men find dependable employment and earn an income of their own, which helps stabilize political and economic situations. Thanks to their income from the tree planting and farming, parents can afford to send their children back to school, buy medicine and build houses.” 

“By planting trees, one can help create and maintain a habitat for all kinds of often endangered species, supporting local biodiversity. Trees can also help shape and restore landscapes. With their strong roots they can stabilize shorelines and mountain sides.” 

“So by planting a tree, you can fight climate change, restore landscapes, protect wildlife, provide nutrition, employment, education, medical assistance and political as well as economic stability. Mind-boggling, isn’t it?”

To put it simply, trees equal life!

Is it worth it?

In my opinion, absolutely! It may not be as direct as walking out the back door, digging the hole, and planting the seedling myself, but it is an excellent movement and a great first step in my journey to reduce harm. Besides, the day I plant seedlings myself is hopefully not too far off.

Ecosia is also very similar to Google and other search engines- the change was hardly noticeable. I can even keep track of how many trees I’ve helped plant with a “tree counter.”

So if you can plant trees by sitting at your desk and surfing the web, why not?

What do you think? Have you heard of Ecosia before and are you interested? Let me know!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photography, quote, and information from the Ecosia website.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Sort:  

Thanks for your post and to inform people about Ecosia. I am already a user of Ecosia and I am enjoying using it because it matches my beliefs. Welcome on Steemit :)

Awesome! I was curious to see who else used/heard of Ecosia! It is really a cool idea and a great first step towards becoming the embodiment of my values! :) How long have you been using Ecosia and what is your tree counter at if I may ask? Followed!

I am using Ecosia some months now and contributed for a little more than 500 trees. I admit sometimes I still uses Google, but more and more I am using Ecosia. It gives a better feeling.

Very cool :) I've been using Ecosia for a few months as well. I enjoy watching the little tree counter grow to higher numbers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43