Cultural Attention Deficit: What happens when you read a WHOLE article?

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

We are in an attention-deprived culture.

I am part of it, so I speak from inside of it, not as some elitist overlord.

Image.png-33.jpeg

Before I begin: I challenge you, as an exercise in what I am about to discuss, to read through this whole article, every word, and observe how it affects you—how you may be truly interested in the subject matter but..

...you notice that little red notification
…or you are wondering if your friend texted you back
…or if your earnings on here went up
…or are just feeling a generalized, non-specific but familiar “itch” to move on.

Challenge yourself to actually read this—without just skimming--and observe yourself as you do.




........................................................................................................

Exhibit A: Me




Today, I came to sit at my computer to write this article. Then I decided I needed some lunch. Then I got distracted by my to do list, which got me thinking about another list, which then had me scheduling out my bill payments for the next two months. Then my cousin texted me with a picture of her new hedgehog (no joke—obviously that was all-consuming for a stretch!)

She just texted me back. I of course responded.

At some point, I decided I needed to cut up my strawberries. And in between it all somewhere, I made some other list about something I have to do. And then went for a little walk.

Phew.

Does anyone else get tired of this constant flitting about?

(Literally just as I wrote this I remembered I had something on the stove I forgot about, and ran to grab it. You can’t make this stuff up).

Image-2.png-5.jpeg

We never seem to spend more than a few moments plugged into ONE thing. It’s constantly Look here! Go there! Check that! Look back here!

The pace is maddening, and we never seem to just relax into the beauty of specific things.

I’m not sure exactly where I remember this from, but I remember reading a few times how the human person is made to be able to be absorbed by activities, focused with laser-like attention on things that are worthwhile, one at a time, and that this is what brings us satisfaction in our work and in our life. The constant gear-shifting really messes with us.

Image-1.png-8.jpeg

It is an incredible feeling when one has the opportunity to enter into something with that absorption. Time disappears. The world inside seems to expand and expand. And there is this feeling of peace, rhythm, and ownership of oneself and one’s life.

These days, a person has to consciously choose to give things attention, because there will constantly be bids for our time and attention resources. Our lives are emphatically not naturally contemplative, as they were perhaps in simpler times where most people performed manual, rhythmic tasks throughout the day.

At no other time do I think it has ever been so much this way of distraction. The internet is literally rewiring our brains—we aren’t just rude people who don’t care; we are actually being made incapable of keeping attention. Our brains have become somewhat less able!

Image.png-34.jpeg

I experience this.




Truth be told, I was at a small, rigorous university for grad studies when The Smart Phone hit and I missed all the fanfare adjustment period with everyone else. I actually had one, but the cell plans were so cheap in Austria that I only really thought of it as an emergency thing. I only used it for phone calls and texting, and because I spent almost all of my time on campus, I always had wifi access so didn’t bother with data. Because my classes and the community life were extremely demanding, I didn’t really involve myself much at all with social media.

So, for a couple of years as the whole cultural wave hit, I was almost entirely unaffected. On top of this, I spent my days hammering away at heavy, heavy, centuries-and-milliennia-old philosophical and theological texts and learning Latin and Greek and German, so while the general cultural attention capacity deteriorated, mine was likely increasing. This left me perfectly poised as an objective responder to the smart phone and social media phenomenon.

Image-3.png-5.jpeg

When I came back, the cultural difference was shocking. My friends no longer gave me their full attention when I talked. There was always one hand stroking their phone, waiting for something better to come through. Everyone was suddenly looking at their phone instead of the streets and people as they walked.

This was a new and alien world, and I vowed to keep from entering into it in the way I found so disturbing in the transition.




But here I am, 3 1/2 years later, and only mildly better than the average bear. I can easily leave my phone aside for a few hours still. But it is harder to read the difficult texts I used to find enjoyable. I am constantly aware of and checking my phone. And I go into a mild but real panic if I can’t find it for a minute.

At this point, it is in many ways a tired thing to discuss “what technology is doing to us,” especially as it is so often doomsday—especially when we don’t count the blessings alongside some of the curses (there are many.. ahem, Steem).

Image-4.png-5.jpeg

But it worth continuing the conversation about, to my mind, and challenging ourselves in a big way to improve our attention and decrease our tech addictions. It is especially important for the artists and writers, who can only do really great work with impeccable attention to detail—which requires excellent, cultivated attention.

And it’s not about being accusatory; it’s about what is actually best for us all, to have a truly GOOD life.

If we want to live the full capacities of what it is to be human, with a sense of satisfaction and fullness in our life, work, and relationships, we will need to make some very uphill but worthwhile decisions with regard to building attention and avoiding distraction.




I hope to discuss this more in the months to come, as it pertains to quality art and conversation as well--which most of you know, I am incredibly passionate about.



Xx, Kay

PS: I would love to hear your thoughts about this! Let me know in the comments below.










© 2017. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I like how long you made this article. Even though it only takes a little over five minutes to read, I know that it is a difficult challenge for most people to make it through the entire post without letting their minds wander.

We live in an interesting world, don't we? Most people will easily scroll for hours through funny pictures or watch YouTube pranks, cringe-worthy videos, or top-tens without a second thought. But the moment people are asked to devote attention to something that's not mindless, passive viewing, it becomes a lot more difficult.

Truthfully, I don't like being on the computer much. I always feel like a zombie because there is so much that can become a distraction, and I get lost in that frequently (especially when I start trying to do something on the computer when I'm already too tired to focus). Although the internet has so much good to offer, it also highlights the negative in the world such as the ways people behave or think, the corruption that is essentially in every facet of life, and the misinformation about everything. It's easier for the human mind to hold onto a negative thought than a positive one.

If you have a minute, look up mean world syndrome. The particular term relates to how viewing television makes people view the world in a more negative light due to the increased exposure of violence. Well, the internet is basically television on steroids.

Being on the computer for an extended period of time creates the feeling of hopelessness and lack of purpose. While on the internet, we have to fight off the negative thoughts other people write and share. We have to avoid comparing ourselves with the really talented and successful people. We have to not let the details of any stories related to violence, and abuse, and finances, and our futures really sink in or we risk creating a "doomsday" mentality in our own heads. And the only way to avoid these things on the internet is to shut off that part of our brains that should care, which is not a good solution if you want to enjoy life. So many people are depressed, and I think the internet is fueling that.

Although the internet can be a good thing, just like all forms of technology it can be used against us. I think it's unfortunate that such a reliance on the internet has been imposed. For example, most jobs, housing agencies, government-run programs, and businesses use the internet in some form (at least in the U.S.). But we, humans, decide what to allow and accept. And majority rules.

Excellent comment @orcainutah and great post @kayclarity!

Thank you! :)

This is amazing comment. Thank you. I hope to come back to respond more fully, but wanted to just let you know how much I appreciated it right away.

Loading...

Good article, I read every word! These days, I always feel anxious...it doesn't help that I am in nesting mode with a baby coming in the next 2-6 weeks and the weather is so hot I can't even do anything...even trying to sit and relax or read, comfortably, is a challenge right now!

haha! Well I think late prego anxiety is in a different category :). You've got a tiny human in there running out of space! That has to affect you! lol

But, that said, I do actually think the tech stuff is contributing in a big way to anxiety and other mental illnesses. We develop patterns of addiction, which make us feel "off" throughout the day without our "fix." Perhaps increasing mental illness is the starting point for why so many of us are prone to addiction as well, so it's probably a complex discussion to be had. But I think there has been a lot of research--internet colour and instant gratification is rewiring our brains similar to drugs, apparently!

Thanks so much for stopping by, reading, and commenting. Hope your delivery and this last stretch go smoothly! And.. congrats! Xx, Kay

I have seen reports that suggest that this new technology is as addictive as cocaine (especially for children) and lights up the same parts of the brain.

I have felt anxious for the last decade or so, largely I think due to the veil coming down and breaking through the years of indoctrination. I was just depressed before that lol...I suppose being pregnant is different but it seems to have had a compounding effect on my already present anxiety. I just want to do something to make the world a better place, but where do you even start? Become the change, I suppose :) I will have the chance to give my child an "old school" experience by not using technology to distract myself, or them...we will learn through experience and going out into nature...that is where I find the anxiety lessens...no wifi, no phones, no distractions...just nature!

I hope my last stretch is smooth too! Thanks gain and have a great day :)

Wow - it's amazing to see you already thinking about how you want to do things differently for your child. It really can be different. I notice I feel better when I'm away from it all as well..

I have heard that as well. Apparently Steve Jobs wouldn't let his own kids touch much of the tech because he knew how addictive it was for forming brains. The lack of attention in the high-school age group now is actually astonishing to me.

You are very welcome! xx

Shallow is as shallow does... We get out what we put in... ;)

EXACTLY. That is what I always say about art: we only mine what we work for. It makes it very hard as an artist (I'm a singer-songwriter and poet) in a shallow world, as there aren't many who are willing to "dig" anymore. Doing my little bit here on Steem to try to turn the tide on that a bit.

Thanks for your comment! Xx, Kay

One, I think, has to find an integrated approach to this issue. Meditation practice, contemplation, focusing on any given task at hand...
I'm re-reading my very old copy of The Master and Margarita ( the devil is always in the details:)...just so I can focus on something other than the screen....
But really, on this earth, at this time: there's always something gonna get ya!
Good post! A little less of the authoritarian super-ego in this one​:)))))

Yeah. It is going to be a constant struggle, but I think it's just important that we at least keep trying to do what we can. There isn't a hard and fast "best way".

lol - do you mean in comparison to articles about this, or in comparison to my other articles? lol! xx.

Here is a link so we can be clear about the query..http://examples.yourdictionary.com/examples-of-id-ego-and-superego.html
Princeandry, in the comments section, understands the superego in the same way I do....
IMO, the best way to deal with one aspect of the superego is to eliminate as much prerational religious superstition from one's mind as possible...And, the moral codes--which are associated​ with these myths-- and study people like Kohlberg for a better understanding of how morality actually functions....
I'm Okay and You're Okay covers a lot along this line of thinking.....We all suffer from this terrible design of being so helpless for so long......
Reminds me​ of Roger Waters​ new lyrics: If I'd been given the rod; I may have done a better job.....
In general, though, I enjoy the passion within your posts:)

You do know that asserting that perhaps one ought not to operate in the superego is operating from something of a superego, right? :).

There is much to say. Obviously, as I'm clear I am a "messy Catholic," we are going to see things pretty differently on the whole and won't have a lot of convergence, but I'm happy to just be in general dialogue and mutual respect in the whole thing. Calling any religious grounds "prerational superstition" isn't suuuuuper mutually respectful, but I can let that it go this time (that's playful and I'm laughing, don't worry :).

I decided when I signed up here that I wouldn't hide my Catholicism, but also that I wouldn't engage directly in theological debates. I might change my mind about it at some point, but it's mostly just because those conversations are much better had in person in a personal relationship context. Very truly, although I could engage it more and it isn't for lack of things to say--I just don't want to get distracted from my main focus on here--my art and that discussion! With my health and things, I also just have limited resources for certain things that are particularly precious to me and therefore more emotionally taxing, so I choose to leave certain things aside for my sanity.

Like I said, maybe that will change--but not likely. So.. we can peacefully engage on here knowing we stand on different spots!

Glad you enjoy the passion, as it's not something I easily turn off haha.

Wishing you a good day, sir! :) xx

Oh, indeed! None of us are immune from the human condition.....
If the religion existed prior to The Enlightenment ( about 1500 A.D.) then the religion is pre-rational. Most Christian's today have gone through the rationalization process and some have even embraced post-rational Christian thought...The philosopher Jack Caputo as one example... Scientology in comparison would be a post-rational religion by this usage as it came out of late modernity.....
Arguing and 'proving' metaphysical claims is a whole other can of beans and in that context, ​I agree with you that it's a tiring debate.
Keep up the good work!
One more thing for clarity: not every religious claim prior to 500 years ago was irrational; but again, from the context of The Age of Reason--they were all pre-rational religions.

Oh damn! Here is another way to try and grok this: children don't develop the faculty of reason until a certain age--they are prerational in their cognition; they grow into rational thought if raised normatively, adults can enter into post-rational modes of cognition....Love and being in love is one example of an adult post-rational mode of cognition...Being in a state of flow would be another example....

Helpful clarification :). Although I think the term is misleading, as the ancient philosophers shouldn't be ignored either (have you ever gotten your hands on Aristotle's Ethics of Physics?).

You sound like someone I would enjoy an actual conversation with, but yes.. not here. So just a smile and a wave from afar!

Of course, the faculty of reason did exist to certain degrees in antiquity; but by and large, those times were pre-rational by this metric...Aristotle lived in a time when most believed the earth was flat....​Buddhist cultures were patriarchal and ethnocentric​, too, as another example...No one got into Tibet unless they were of that culture....
Indeed, Hugh, The HeadStones and a smile back at ya!

I love reading through people's posts, but once in a while, I fall victim to my short attention span. I can't help but agree with this one -

The internet is literally rewiring our brains—we aren’t just rude people who don’t care; we are actually being made incapable of keeping attention.

It's so true that an experiment showed (I forgot where I read this) that people who put away their phones into another room perform better at exams than people who answer questions with their phones right in front of them. The harder thing about this is that technology in general has become a constant, that losing my phone for a while would pull the same reaction it does to you - a mild but real panic.

Oh - I certainly do as well! We can't read everything. But it's sad when we are authentically interested and can't slow down enough to take something worthwhile in.

Wow! So interesting. That makes sense to me. As wonderful as they are, they truly are a bit crazy-making!

Thanks for your comment. :). Xx, Kay

Really good point, I've been thinking about taking one day a week as electronic free (except for Kindle books) Haven't done it yet though.

So much truth to this, I can relate.
Btw, your photography is just lovely! I really enjoyed it!

Happy Tuesday!

You are brilliant and will go far here. So glad to cross paths with you. Gratitude feeds me as well. 🙏🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48