Here is why removing the 3.5mm audio jack is a trend nowadays.

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

3.5mm audio jack cable

Today Huawei has just announced the new Mate 10 PRO phone which comes with no 3.5mm audio jack as well as iPhone 7/8/x and also Xiaomi Mi 6.. I'm a big lover of that jack and I just didn't understand why they are doing that, I did my search on internet and the reasons were not satisfying to me but here they are:

  1. Phone manufacturers see that the 3.5mm jack prevent them from making the phone thinner.
    I just need to mention that Xiaomi Mi 6 is 7.45mm, so obviously it isn't less than 3.5mm!
  2. Xiaomi says that the removal of it allows them to add bigger batteries, Xiaomi Mi 6 comes with 3350mAh, when Oneplus 5 is 3300mAh and they kept the jack too.
  3. They also say that it allows them to make the dual rear camera option, I think they should take a look on all huawei's old phones and OnePlus 5 too.
  4. They say that USB-type C and lightening ports deliver better sounds, so they basically removed the jack, but we users sometimes need to CHARGE AND LISTEN AT THE SAME TIME!

Personally I LOVE the 3.5mm jack, and I will not buy a phone without it.
What do you think?

@minnowsupport

Sort:  

I also wont buy a phone without headphone jack 🙂

This trend of audio jack removing is very bad. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39