Original Apple Macintosh display died. Fixed then something went POP!

in #technology6 years ago

wth.jpg

I'm not really an Apple product fan. At least not modern day Apple. Their phones? Eh. Their tablets? Eh. Their computers..? Eh, but their vintage computers, well, that's another story.

When I was a kid in the 1980s, I was fascinated by personal computers after seeing the film WarGames. My school had them. My mother's job had them. A friend of my father even had an Apple II at his small business. I wanted to get my hands on any & all computers then, but Apple probably stood out because they were polished looking products compared to something from Radio Shack or Texas Instruments.

As an adult, I collect vintage computers, but I feel like my computer collection would be a joke if I didn't have an original Apple Macintosh. I was on the look out for a 128K model, but I came across a 512K model for a price I couldn't pass up. Well, after a few months the display started acting up. It sometimes comes on, sometimes not. Computer appeared to be fine but the display was screwy. I searched for help online and found some silly advice that says to hit the Macintosh in a very specific place. As stupid as that sounds, it worked, but it was a temporary fixed. Eventually the display stopped working altogether.

I eventually ran into a man on Facebook name Michael Schwertel and he said he could fix it. He works at a place called AllMacs. They repair vintage Apple computers. However, as the name of the business suggests, they are willing to work on & repair a wide variety of Macintosh computers, modern ones too. I sent him the motherboard. He fixed it and mailed it back. I installed it and was pleasantly surprised to see the display working. However, I did something wrong which almost undid all the good Michael/AllMacs did for my poor Macintosh. Watch the video to see what I mean.

Sort:  

Dude, please put your video on D-Tube rather than YouTube. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89