Sort:  

I read an article a while back about a project that could disrupt the need for an ISP. The way I understand it is that it's basically a decentralized ISP run on a blockchain. The project is called ANDRENA. The idea being that people would place high powered WIFI devices on their rooftops and charge fees for access through the blockchain. So instead of going to Verizon or Comcast for your internet, you could go to your neighbor.

I'm not sure it will take over the ISP business in my lifetime, but it sure does sound like a cool project and I'm all about ditching the corporate internet gatekeepers.

Check it out at https://andrena.tech/ and the Medium Article they wrote is super interesting (https://hackernoon.com/decentralized-internet-on-blockchain-6b78684358a).

As always thanks for another super interesting article @jrswab!

This is one of those aspects that does not need a blockchain in my opinion. MetaMesh is doing this exact thing without the need of a blockchain. Just some good old peer-2-peer action.

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40