High Graphics Card Prices from First Party Sellers


Today I'm taking a look at the graphics card price gouging that's shown up from many retailers which many people blame on cryptocurrency mining.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Let's get this movement going. It will pay to be an early adopter. Thanks for blaming the right party here. It's not the customers fault regardless of what they are using it for.

Yeah, as far as Youtube alternatives go, I think this has been the most compelling to date as its advantageous for content creators as well as viewers. And I couldn't agree more on miners not being to blame. Its a rather entitled view to say graphics cards are ONLY for gamers. Miners are consumers too. I just feel that the retailers should not be using that as an excuse to raise prices.

looking around on steemit it doesnt feel that early, but for d.tube i guess yes.

Memory cartels have a lot to do with it as the high price and low supply of DRAM/HBM is hampering AMD from ramping up GPU production as Lisa Su confirmed recently(Silicon production not the problem). Nvidia are probably facing similar issues.

I am glad i got my MSI RX 480 4gb Gaming X 14 months ago when the price was $200. I waited all of the summer of 2016 for the price to fall and after i got it the price crept back up. My brother got an HTC Vive at the same time and built a new computer and got the same card with a mail in rebate. he recently upgraded is PC with a GTX 1080 Strix so he could play Fallout VR, right before the the prices spiked up over $1k . I got the old RX 480 and have put it to use mining Ethereum since the crossfire was garbage. i have payed him back in Ether which seems to be holding steady as a lot of other currencies keep dropping.

Great tip about using the Nvidia website, One day I will be able to upgrade from my 770 gtx.

Microcenter at least didn't lie about lowering the price. It's still not great that they are not at MSRP but it's better than 1 week ago. Hope all this cryptomining crase won't effect new gpu launches.

nice to see you putting out your videos here too

I think with mining difficulty going up and btc prices going down the Gpu market will correct soon. ROI is already pushing past 7 months for GPU's.

I'd love to see AMD sell direct to customers like Nvidia and cut out middleman with only 1 gpu per customer. Competition would help get these gouges in line.

Good info. Thanks.
I was waiting for the joke...since you're calling yourself joker. ;) Maybe you should make that some sort of running gag? Tell a joke at the end of every video? :D

Joker, I am sure you have heard that Samsung has started making chips for ASIC mining. I have already heard rumors that they are going to combo these chips with there ram that is the best for mining Ethereum to make specific Ethereum ASIC miners. if this is true than the same thing that happened to Bitcoin years ago will soon happen to Ethereum and the used GPU market will get flooded. This will also make retail prices drop if they want to compete at all and not have there shelves filled with GPUS they can't move.

Prices in UK are not that bad I think. But yeah the whole crypto bullshit is at this point annoying.

love the new platform another option is very nice to have!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71