Podcasts = Life

in #technology7 years ago

I have a 1 hour commute to and from work, about 3 days a week. I also do about about an hour of running a few days a week. I love music but I love focusing on something or even learning new things while I'm doing something else. I started listening to podcasts pretty hardcore about 3 years ago. I'm always looking for new podcasts that I might like and getting suggestions from others on things they are listening to and like. Here are some of the podcasts that I have been listening to lately and why I like them:


#1 Nerdist Podcast
Do you remember the show Singled Out that was on MTV in the 90's? So the dude that hosted that show, Chris Hardwick, has a podcast and it's awesome. The #1 reason why it's awesome is because he gets really high profile people onto his show. He has interviewed everyone from Mark Hamill to Charlie Hunnam to Wayne Coyne. He is really well spoken, full of energy, and can talk about a wide range of subjects with his guests.

Here is a link to my all time favorite interview with Guy Ritchie. His thoughts and ideas border on life changing. http://nerdist.com/nerdist-podcast-guy-ritchie/


#2 Anna Farris Is Unqualified
I just started listening to Anna. If you start from the beginning it takes her a little while to get comfortable as a podcaster but she does ease into the role. She also has really great guests on her show. She is funny, and inappropriate, and pierces the veil a little bit about what it's like to be in Hollywood, which I always find interesting.

Here is a link to Sharon Stone on the show. I was totally blown away by how intelligent she is.
http://www.unqualified.com/2017/04/10/episode-92-sharon-stone/

#3 Girlboss Radio
I'm a girl and those of you who are not, may not be as into this as I am. Sometimes it's nice to hear women talking about things that affect women. The guests on the podcast are smart businesswomen with great advice and life lessons.

Gwyneth Paltrow talking about why everyone hates her https://www.girlboss.com/girlboss/gwyneth-paltrow-interview-girlboss-radio


#4 Bon Appetit Podcast
If you like to watch cooking shows in your spare time, this is as close to it comes to that without a TV. There are great guests, chefs, recipes, and cooking advice. Warning: Don't listen on an empty stomach!

Seth Rogan wants to eat nachos http://www.bonappetit.com/podcasts/article/seth-rogen-sausage-party-podcast

()
#5 Ted Radio Hour
I'm going to round out my list with Ted Radio Hour. If you want to get smart while you are driving/running/working in the yard, this is it. There is such a wide range of topics and subjects to choose, and really TED can make anything interesting. You can learn about things that you never even knew you wanted to know about. There is a huge library of ideas in which you may choose. I like to just hit subscribe and then listen to whatever comes up for the week. Even if I didn't think I would be interested, I end up learning something worthy of Friday night dinner conversation.

Rethinking School http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/535044918/rethinking-school?showDate=2017-08-11

What are you listening to?

Sort:  

My ipad is basically a podcast listening device that I use to drown out all of the tedious distraction at work. I require a great deal of distraction. Thanks for sharing!

I haven't started listening at work yet. As an accountant, I think I would get super distracted. It is a great way for me to decompress after work on the drive home. What are you listening to?

Congratulations @jodiegolier! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66