Facebook A.I. Robots Shut Down After Creating Their Own Language!

in #technology7 years ago

Facebook has shut down two artificial intelligence's that appeared to be chatting to each other in a strange language only they understood.

The two chat bots came to create their own changes to English that made it easier for them to work – but which remained mysterious to the humans that supposedly look after them.

The bizarre discussions came as Facebook challenged its chat bots to try and negotiate with each other over a trade, attempting to swap hats, balls and books, each of which were given a certain value. But they quickly broke down as the robots appeared to chant at each other in a language that they each understood but which appears mostly incomprehensible to humans.

The robots had been instructed to work out how to negotiate between themselves, and improve their bartering as they went along.

The actual negotiations appear very odd, and don't look especially useful:

Bob: i can i i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have zero to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to

Bob: you i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have a ball to me to me to me to me to me to me to me

Bob: i i can i i i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have a ball to me to me to me to me to me to me to me

Bob: i . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have zero to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to

Bob: you i i i i i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have 0 to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to

Bob: you i i i everything else . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Alice: balls have zero to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to

But there appear to be some rules to the speech. The way the chatbots keep stressing their own name appears to a part of their negotiations, not simply a glitch in the way the messages are read out.

Indeed, some of the negotiations that were carried out in this bizarre language even ended up successfully concluding their negotiations, while conducting them entirely in the bizarre language.

Sort:  

Really scary stuff!

The reality of A.I. is scary not only because of the doomsday scenarios, but also in how much it can change human life. It either save us or kill us all.

This post was Copy-Pasted from the link at the bottom with no disclaimer that it is. Therefore I will not be accepting the Resteem Payment you sent and I will be reporting this post to SteemCleaners.

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to respond here :)

I simply took the description that was on Youtube.. and posted this video because i thought i was interesting.

I have worked hard and spent alot of time and money to promote steemit..

As i wrote in another post.. vigilante justice can be a problem.

After ONE post where i copied some information in good faith.. you are running off to the steemit police to dob me in..

What would happen if everyone does this?

Will i be banned, instantly.. and without a chance to defend myself?

All my hard work gone.. in an instant.. for copying some text.. which i thought would be ok to copy in the first place? Someone else here on steemit obviously posted the same thing too.. how am i supposed to know?

Is there a way i can check if other people have posted something similar to me?

I can see steemit becoming a very scary place if people are running around reporting on each other.

Hopefully a downvote button will be added in the future.. and the community can decide if content is bad or not.. not a handful of vigilantes.

Copy Pasting is lazy, theft and not tolerated on Steemit. You can "cite" portions of an article if you put it in Quotations or do it like below:

All my hard work gone.. in an instant.. for copying some text.. which i thought would be ok to copy in the first place? Someone else here on steemit obviously posted the same thing too.. how am i supposed to know?

Then link to the original source like this:

Source

Well i linked to the original article that was found on Youtube.. of course.

Or are you saying.. i should search steemit every time i copy some text.. and make sure no one else has used it?

BTW i totally get copying someone elses steemit post.. of course that can't be tolerated.

But i went to Youtube.. and copied the text that was given there.. along with the link to the full article.

How am i supposed to know someone else on steemit already posted this..

You are missing the point.....you COPY PASTED FROM YOUTUBE and DIDN'T put the COPY PASTED stuff in QUOTES or BLOCKQUOTES nor did you put any disclaimer or SOURCE that specifies you copy pasted.....that is the problem.....even then it is frowned upon if you do not write your own material to go with what you copy paste.

Sure i see what your saying.. so if i copy some text from another site.. i should use quotes and say i have sourced it from X website.

I will do this, along with trying to focus on writing my own content only.

Thanks for your advice.. its much appreciated :)

It doesn't surprise me, #Facebook has been gathering info on it's users for a long time now. It's done to keep the public in the dark on incriminating evidence found on Capitol Hill, and other government factions. When you try to bring stuff like that out into the light, well..

You know what eventually happens. You get..

Scary stuff. Upvoted and followed.

I know they are taking over!

Congratulations @jimbojones! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Science is so eager to further artificial intelligence to do things better and more powerfully, but they're making themselves more obsolete and stupid in the process. The irony is absurd to me.

It could go either way.. perhaps it will be a useful tool.. or perhaps our demise :)

Wow this is kinda scary. Its like terminator. The robots are rising.

Except instead of saying.. ill be back..

They will be saying:

balls have zero to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to me to

Not such a good catchphrase.. but hey who am i to judge :)

Its a codes message that requires detailed encryption

I could understand sharing this story in your own words, and linking to the article you read, but you have literally copied and pasted half of that article, and now you want to earn money for it. That's called plagiarism, and is illegal.

Read my comment about copying the text from Youtube.. which has been copied onto 10,000 sites.

However i do appreciate you saying something.. i agree people should not copy people's works and try to create money from it.

Would be a big problem here on steemit in the future i could imagine.

A newbie could write the most awesome article.. someone with more followers could copy it and make all the money.. that would suck.

Do you think i did something wrong when copying the text from Youtube? I would think it would be free for everyone to use.

I don't want to steal peoples content, let me know what you think :)

In my opinion, which is only worth so much, no, you shouldn't have copied the text from YouTube.

Steemit is different from all 10,000 of the sites you mention. Steemit gives people a place to earn money for posting "valuable content" (which is a relative term), but it's a lot more than that.

If people just copy and paste the same content from other social media, we're just gonna look like other social media. Steemit is supposed to be different.

I have no problem with people sharing a link to a YouTube video as part of their content, but explain it in your own words. Talk about why you're interested in the video in the first place. Talk about the subject of the video. Talk about the people in it. Steemit is about being rewarded for original content and ideas.

The same ol' same will be the downfall of this wonderful community.

Yeah i agree.. i appreciate the pointers and will try to come up with my own description :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32