Keyboards Are SO Last Century

in #technology5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

An article about a new invention caught my eye the other day. It's called the Tap Strap and it allows users to replace conventional keyboards by using just one hand to tap words, commands and even gestures in any Blue Tooth device.

1demonstration.jpg
source

I know, I know, there are already non keyboard apps in the form of voice to text, but there are a thousand situations that you don't want to or would not be able to use a voice app to text with.

The Tap Strap allows one to use either hand on any surface.

You DO have to learn how to use it, they say it takes about 2 hours to learn the Alphabet with it and about 5 hours of playing around time with games designed to help you master the program.

type-on-sofa.jpg
source

This thing is really slick. I think it's going to be a big hit and change the way some of us access our devices forever. We've been using the keyboard for 150 years and it's done it's job well but this tool takes us to the next level.

The battery lasts for 10 hours on one charge and the price is just $199. One advantage is the ergonomics of it.

In other words, you don't have to be trapped in the same typing position all day, which causes many people to develop Carpel Tunnel syndrome.

TAP__0965-2.jpg
source

With this, you can tap in any position on any surface, even on the handle bars of your bike while out riding.

The newest version has a Minority Report-style feature that will make you feel like you're in a syfi movie. It lets you control any Bluetooth-connected device with a wave of your hand.

dims.jpg
source

In the Multimedia Mode you can can use airborne gestures to play and pause music, adjust volume and skip to the next or previous track. In the Smart TV Mode you can navigate menus, select items and search for content.

In Mouse Mode you can control a cursor, click and scroll just like you would with a normal mouse.

the-tap-strap-2.jpg
source

This is also extremely liberating for people who only have the use of one hand.

a0esw215rr.png

Times they are achangin! I predict that in a year or so you just ain't gonna be cool unless you're using one of these. lol.

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

PS- Here's a couple more sculptures I think are fun. This first one has to be designed with such a strong anchor. You KNOW kids are going to be jumping all over that thing and riding it!

oy7ld7ydxt.png
source

It's kinda freaky. This next one is fun. It looks simple but I think making a perfect giant clothes pin probably wasn't the easiest thing in the world, although I have no idea why they'd want to but it sure is clever!

vmyu40asbc.png
source

l1xgphrt5d.png

uvsylyennv.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Great technology! I think I'll wait until the computer understands what I'm saying ...

lol! Howdy galtsund! I know what you mean and that verbal programming is progressing rapidly also from what I've read. I think in a few years we'll be shocked as far as how we can access, control and interact!

This is amazing! Probably will be better for my hands, neck and back! I can't wait for this to be available on the market! @tipu curate

Another wonder sculpture and this clothes pin is kind a cute, lol.

Yes, with this system you can be in any position that is comfortable for you!
You can buy one here: https://www.tapwithus.com/

I think they are going to do extremely well. We actually invested in their company
this week, they have a crowd funding system set up so that small investors can participate.
Thanks for the tip!

Exactly, he needs it. As he has maintained a nice position in activities on a daily. I admire his effort.

lol. Howdy lemeonna! I might get one someday, if I do I will post about it. Thanks for commenting!

We are The Borg. You will be assimilated. Resistance is futile. LMAO! Yup, I've become paranoid!

I love that clothes pin sculpture! Nice!

Howdy squirrelbait! It's so true that everything will be connected, digitalized, every little tool or item with so many ways to keep track of us. And of course already is! The Tap devices probably take all your vitals and sends them to someone!
I like the sculpture too!

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Howdy steemitboard! I like those numbers, thanks for keeping track!

If that is the first generation, I can't wait to hear all the things that generation 3 will be able to do! Clothes pin art. Hmmm.

lol..same reaction I had to the clothes pin sculpture. Cute but I don't know what the artist is trying to say.

As far as the Tap Strap, I agree, who knows what they can develop in time. Mrs. J and I actually invested in this company, they have a crowd funding system set up for small investors. It's so cool that I really think all the kids and young people will have to have them. The Asia market is looking fantastic for it too.

I agree about the tap strap. It would be much more useful when you have VR goggles on than a key board would be. I think that will be a wise investment for you.

Very true and it's interesting to think of what it will evolve into in the future. The two co-creators of the company are very successful at creating technology.

The lady developed the type of chip which enables phones to take pictures and the man has several major creations too, I forget what they are but he's very impressive.

Today has been a good day for you? When does the Pack play again?

Sunday at noon against the Raiders at Lambeau.

That sounds like it will be a great investment for you!

It has been a very non productive day. I stumbled upon a Canadian produced TV series called Pioneer Quest, which lead me to Klondike Quest-gold miners and Quest for the Bay (Hudson Bay Orkney men) People are challenged to live off the land for months on end with only the resources that would have been available to them in the 1800s. The pioneers had to build their own cabins and break sod to plant their crops, and the gold miners had to pack everything on their backs over the mountains to get to Dawson City. The challenges they all faced were incredible. The shows are on Amazon.

Holy smokes! I'm exclaiming about that series, or shows about surviving in that way like they did in the 1800's. Those people would have to be in great shape! There are so many lesser known shows that are such good quality that no one has heard about!

How are the Raiders doing this year?

They all went through an extensive selection process for physical abilities and psychological issues, because in the case of the pioneer families they would be living away from people and from their own families and friends for a year. The Hudson Bay trip was only 8 weeks, but they had to be strong enough to carry heavy packs and move their heavy, cumbersome, wooden boat on a mile long portage. It was certainly challenging for everyone involved and some were more successful than others.

The Raiders are 3 and 2.

They should be able to beat the Raiders then.
Wow that show sounds remarkable! There are two shows right? The one they had to be away for a year! I hope they paid them well. And you can only get those on Amazon?

Hi janton, an amazing technology invention to get my head around! I wonder how much The Tap Strap costs?

I wonder if a giant left his peg as a marker when visiting?

lol! A giant left his peg! That's funny. It looks like it!

The Tap Strap costs $199.00 and they are improving it all the time and it will be able to do even more over time.

That is a very affordable price janton. Good marketing, imagine the profits.

It's a good price for the freedom from a keyboard, that seems to be very appealing to the youth and I think the company is going to explode in growth and sales.

I hope so because we actually invested in it, they have a crowd funding system where small investors can participate so we did that.

I hope they make a brass knucles version so I can fight crime while typing.

lol! It DOES remind me of a set of brass knuckles sir abitcoinskeptic! That's a good one sir. lol.

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.

Thank you alliedforces!

Howdy snook, thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55